Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

23 Comments

WUW Winter Holly 1What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

I think this’ll be my final blog for 2013. I’m taking a break until 2014 so I can have more time to enjoy the chaos of the Holidays 🙂 I’ll still be reading everyone’s blogs the rest of the year, but in case I don’t “see” you, have a fantastic Holiday!

WHAT I’M READING

I read FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell and loved it. All the characters felt like old friends, like I went to school with them or they lived next door. RR is fast becoming a must-read author for me.

There are other books I want to review, but I’ll get to those in January.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Sadly, I didn’t finish my edits in November, but I’m getting closer to the end and I’m happy with my progress. I’m used to riding the writer rollercoaster, but this WIP has been way more highs than lows. It sounds paranoid, but I keep waiting for the bottom to drop out.

I still plan to take a break from writing after this, but it might be hard b/c I’m itching to start on something new. Other stories are calling my name and it’s hard to resist the pull.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Thinking up ways to outdo myself with my younger brother’s Christmas present. I’m THAT person, the annoying relative who finds it hilarious to wrap up a dozen different boxes and make the recipient open every one, only to discover the present isn’t in any of them, it’s in the next room…stuffed in about a dozen more bags.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Not too much. Reading, editing, working, hanging out with my husband and our cats…you know, the usual.

My neck o’ the woods got its first real snow of the season on Sunday and I stayed tucked inside my (overly) warm apartment. The same thing with the snow on Tuesday. Luckily, it wasn’t a lot either time, only about 4-5 inches.

Not sure who the trash can belongs to, but it sort of ruins the beauty of that shot. Oh well.

IMG_20131208_132127 - Copy

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

23 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I LOVE that you do that with your brother’s presents. My sisters used to do stuff like that to me. (remind me to tell them I love them)

    And I think congrats are in order even if you didn’t get your edits done. You made progress. So go you!!

    Stay warm. Have a great week!

  2. Love what you’re doing with your brother’s present! Good luck with the reading, editing, and revising–and enjoy your writing break, if you take one! I’m on a break right now, and I am loving this time to recharge. 🙂

  3. Hahaha! Sounds like you and your family have with Christmas shopping! Love all the love Fangirl is getting! Hope you get back to revisions soon. Although with the holidays it’s difficult to find time to do much of anything.

  4. I loved FANGIRL so much! I’m a fangirl of Rainbow Rowell too. I hope you enjoy the ‘chaos of the holidays’ and that you out-do yourself with your brother’s present. That sounds like fun : )

  5. That’s too funny about the gift-wrapping thing. I’m not sure I’ve ever had to open that kind of present before. 😛 I have to agree with you on Rainbow Rowell and her books. I liked FANGIRL so much more than ELEANOR & PARK, but I liked that one too. Here’s hoping you continue to have highs where your story is concerned. That’s such a fantastic place to be! Have a great week, Jennifer!

  6. I loved Fangirl! It sounds like you’re making great progress with your edits. Good luck, and have a great holiday! 🙂

  7. I completely agree that Rainbow Rowell is becoming a must read author.

    Good luck finishing your edits. With snow falling outside, now is a perfect time to bundle up indoors and write, write, write. Well that and torture your loved ones by giving them obnoxious gifts.

  8. That sounds like a fun way of giving a gift 😀

    Ooooh, snow! Lovely ^_^

    Best of luck with the revisions and the SNIs. Hope it’s a great week.

  9. If I don’t need to drive in it, I love the first few snowfalls of the season. 🙂 Especially at night, when the snow is softly falling and you can just watch it around you like a snowglobe.

    Though it is fun when I’m back in my hometown in Michigan, where they get way more snow than me on the other side of Lake Michigan in IL, Ilike to drive through snowy streets there on nearly vacant roads and sliiiiide…. haha.

    Enjoy your holidays!!!

  10. I’m so happy to hear your writing process has had more highs than lows. Enjoy your holidays and your break from writing! And even if you’re on a break, you can have some fun thinking over those new story ideas. I always figure the imagining part is just as important as the actual writing (and definitely more fun sometimes). 🙂

  11. It’s always important to acknowledge the writing we’ve done. Even when I fall short of my goals, I know I did something.

    I need to move Fangirl from the bottom to the top of my TBR pile.

  12. Ha! Love the gift-giving thing. You’ll have to let us know what you come up with. 🙂 Best of luck finishing your revisions! I’m the same way with the story ideas. As soon as I decided to take “off” in December, about a million ideas hit me. Thanks, Muse. Thanks. 🙂 Have a great rest of the month, and happy holidays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

