Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

30 Comments

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.WUWAutumn

WHAT I’M READING

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell, which I’m really enjoying.

I saw this list on the Stacked blog of 2014 YA contemporaries and my TBR-list has officially exploded.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Still revising, in total I’m down: 6,613 words

I cut 1,060 of them just on Sunday night while participating in some word sprints hosted by YA Buccaneers. They have them every week, so check their calendar.

I’m trying to get edits done this month and then I don’t want to think about writing until 2014.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Drama kids again. My bro and his school competed in the regional round of a one-act festival and came in third, which is awesome. I think they were disappointed about not moving on to the state-level, but they shouldn’t be. They left their school on a bus at FOUR in the morning to ride 170 miles. It was five in the evening when I got my brother’s text after the judges’ results were announced. Then they still had to ride home. That is a long day and it takes amazing dedication and poise to do what they did.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

The middle school in my town performed a musical (first time ever!) and it was a lot of fun to watch. There were sixth graders running the lights and sound which was especially impressive to me since at least once a week I think my laptop speakers are broken, when the only problem is that I have headphones plugged in.

Also, the big news:

Adopting two new furry friends.

It’s been four month since my husband and I had to put our beloved fuzzy boy to sleep and for awhile, I couldn’t even think about cats without wanting to cry. So it’s a little scary to open up our hearts/home again.

Note: Frank isn’t snarling, he has a snaggletooth. His little sneer is what won me over. The pic is fuzzy b/c he’s not a fan of cameras, but I’m confident that I’ll eventually get a good self-portrait with him.

Frank

Frank

Legend

Legend

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

30 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I saw that reading list too, and my brain exploded right along with my TBR list. NO MORE AWESOMENESS!! (At least until I get my time stopper fixed.) 😉

  2. I love tuxedo cats! Legend looks a bit like Justin, the kitten who was set on fire earlier this year but who now has a great new mommy and has grown a gorgeous, healthy coat.

  3. Oh, I love your two new fuzzy friends! Frank really resembles our Puck. (I love tabbies so much!) Enjoy all the kitty cuddles. 🙂 I’m heading on over to check out that 2014 Contemp list, so I fully expect my TBR list to explode too. Good luck with your edits!

  4. Your cats are absolutely adorable. Also, yay for theatre competitions!!! I am re-falling in love with everything musical theatre as I work on my current story. I miss it SO MUCH

    And I must get on the sprint train with the Buccaneers. But go you! That’s some impressive cutting! Hope you get oodles accomplished in the next week!

  5. I want a cat. My husband is allergic and believes that my fantasy cat (the one who will exist largely in my third-story loft office and purr beside me as I write) doesn’t exist, but instead will choose him over me and sleep on his pillow. Because I am not cuddly, and my husband is. Needless to say, I’m jealous of you.

  6. Frank and Legend are so cute! Both of their personalities come across so strongly in those pictures. 🙂

  7. FANGIRL! Loved it! And that Stacked post totally did a number on my To-Read list too. So many awesome sounding books coming soon! Your new kitties are adorable. My daughter has been asking for a cat (she went so far as to write “kitten” on her Christmas list). I’m not much of a cat person, but I feel myself folding. Sucker mom. 🙂

  8. Four in the morning is incredible dedication. Congratulations to them!

    Frank is such a great name for your cat! Love the photo 😀

    Have a great week! Here’s to getting your edits finished ^_^

  9. Congrats on the two new additions to the family! I know exactly what you mean about being hesitant to go down that path again…but I know there’s absolutely no way I could live without kitties, even if it’s hard to say goodbye. I’m sorry to hear about your little boy, but happy you’ve found two new little ones to keep you company.

    I still have yet to read FANGIRL — I’m just now reading ELEANOR & PARK, so FANGIRL will hopefully be soon. So many great books to read…and now I’m heading over to check out that list on Stacked (thanks, btw!)…probably not a good idea, since I’m writing this from the Starbucks that’s connected to my B&N. Looks like I’ll be headed next door in a few!

    Awesome job on your revisions — you’ve been doing so well and I’m happy to hear all the progress you’ve made! Keep it up!

  10. Hooray for your new fuzzy family additions!! They are adorable and I love the snargle-tooth. My kitty has a snargle-tooth that he acquired by trying to jump from the refrigerator onto the moving ceiling fan. (Never a dull moment with cats…let me tell you)

    And congrats on your edits! Forward progress is a wonderful thing.

    Hope you have an amazing week!

    • Awww, your poor kitty! I’m not sure where our Frank got his tooth, all the shelter knew was that he came from the streets. I’ll imagine that he was out fighting crime one night and had a tangle with a villain 🙂

  11. I’ve been afraid to look at that list because my TBR is already out of control! That said, FANGIRL is high on that list. I really have to get to it because I want to have all the choices when the YA Superlatives blog fest comes around, haha.

    Congrats on your two new kitties! They are both so adorable!

  12. Adorable cats. I can’t live without them.

    I so badly want to stop everything I’m doing and read Fangirl.

  13. I’m reading Fangirl right now too! I’m really enjoying it so far. I can’t wait to sit with it and finish it. Frank and Legend are the cutest ever!!! Love it.

  14. So many great books, so little time, huh? Best of luck with your revision; do you need to cut a specific target of words? 🙂

  15. Your new cats are so cute!!! 🙂 I hope your revisions have gone well. I loved seeing you participate in all the Word Sprints – it’s always motivating to see someone work so hard. I hope things are going well for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

