Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

YA Book Club – Allegiant by Veronica Roth

18 Comments

Book Club ButtonAllegiant cover(cover from Goodreads)

It’s hard to review without giving anything away, but I’ll try. My page numbers are based on the e-book.

I found the beginning fairly interesting, with everyone discovering the “new place.” (Geez, how vague am I being right now?). There were some beautiful, understated lines about how scary it was to leave:

The train hisses over the rails, a tear drops down Tris’s cheek, and the city disappears into the darkness. (62)

And this line which turned out to be pretty important to the story overall:

Take a person’s memories, and you change who they are. (70)

The middle dragged a bit for me. I understood why it was necessary to show the disparity between the GP and GD, but after awhile it felt like I was being hit over the head with it. And, yeah, I admit, I was confused over all the serum talk.

However, I did like the family aspects – Tris learning more about her mom and the interactions between Tris and Caleb. There was so much there for bro/sis to work through.

MINOR SPOILER with this quote:

A few of them [knuckles] are split from punching Caleb, and dotted with faint bruises. It seems fitting that the blow would leave a mark on both of us. That’s how the world works. (176)

Then there was the end. Firstly, let me say about Peter: wow, didn’t see that coming.

But I did see the other thing coming, even though I didn’t want to believe it would actually happen.

I made a note at Chapter 41 that said “THIS.”

From there on, I couldn’t stop reading.

I noted “THIS” again for Chapter 47. Tris + Caleb = me getting teary. And it wasn’t that I disliked Tris before, I just found her sorta irritating and self-righteous at times. This chapter made me look at her in a whole new light.

I’m in the camp of liking the ending, although I know a lot of people didn’t.

What did you think? Come join the YA Book Club discussion here!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

18 thoughts on “YA Book Club – Allegiant by Veronica Roth

  1. I’ll have to start from he beginning. I’m really behind. Thank you for sharing what you shared. From someone who hasn’t read a single book, it didn’t have any spoilers at all 🙂

  2. I’d forgotten about Pete’s ending… I actually kind of liked that. It felt real and right to me. I’m with you on the middle dragging a bit. It seemed like they were just stuck in the compound having conversations for a good bit of the story. Also, I agree with you on the family bits. I loved learning about Tris’s mother, and I loved how complex her relationship with Caleb was. Overall, I liked this one, but not quite as much as its predecessors.

  3. I didn’t even touch on Peter’s ending, but yes, wow. It was sort of brutal and also really surprising, and I loved it. I’m not sure if I’m in the camp of loving the ending, however I am not in the camp of hating it. I am in the camp of wanting more from it but understanding it at the same time. I agree about those lines, Veronica Roth can write some beautiful words.

  4. The ending didn’t bother me. I actually felt like it was the only part of the book that worked. I didn’t like the pacing in the beginning though. In general, I felt like this book was a major step down from the quality of Divergent.

  5. I love that line about Tris punching Caleb. Actually, I felt like the book had a lot of those simple yet beautiful statements about the world. I also loved the brother-sister aspect. But, yeah, the middle was a little slow. The GD/GP storyline was my least favorite, but I loved the family ones for both Tris and Four. And, YES, Peter! I thought that was a really great (and believable) resolution to his character.

  6. **SPOILER IN THIS COMMENT** Oh my, this book. I agree with so much of what you’ve said: I also struggled with the serum-science and I think that’s partially what made the middle drag for me, too. Loved learning about her mom, I agree. The family dynamics of Tris and Caleb were a struggle for me… When I finished INSURGENT I tweeted Veronica to ask if she had siblings because Caleb going against his sister was just a foreign and out there idea to me. (She did tweet back and she does have siblings.) 🙂 I think those actions on Caleb’s behalf were showing faction over blood, of course, but I’ve been put off by that whole idea for a long time. So, for it to result in Tris’ demise, WELL, my head practically exploded.

    Good job not spoiling, by the way!

  7. All of the family stuff was really interesting, especially since we didn’t really get to know Tris’s parents before they died. I read an interview with Veronica Roth (it might have been Buzzfeed?) where she says Caleb turned a lot sooner than we think he did, so when I reread Divergent a couple weeks ago I was trying to figure it out. Anyway, I liked where things ended with him and Tris, because while it was hopeful, things weren’t back to the way they were, which felt realistic to me.

  8. I’ve read mixed things about this book, but I so want to read it. I read the first two books.

  9. I need to read this book. I’ve heard so much about it. Enjoyed the review!

Leave a Reply

