Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

27 Comments

WUW PLANEBORDER2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I finally finished CATCH-22! Taking an example from Forrest Gump, that’s all I have to say about that.

I started ALLEGIANT. More thoughts on the 18th when I review for YA Book Club.

Finally, since I am a big dork and like celebrating (the totally made-up) Non-Fiction November, I’ll soon be diving into some true stories.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I finished my rewrite!!!

Now I’m doing NaNoReviseMo-ing before I send that baby off to beta camp for the winter.

I REALLY need to chop length, at least 10-15k, and am happy to report I’m already down: 2,727 words

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Everyone who is NaNoWriting and NaNoRevising. We kick butt!

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Not much.  I’ve been trying to get in extra hours at work so I can enjoy a long weekend at Thanksgiving and (combined with revising) that doesn’t leave a lot of time for much else.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

27 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. yay for finishing your rewrite! that’s awesome! and i love all the nanoing going on!

  2. I’m so excited that you finished your rewrite! I’m in major revision mode now, but soon I’ll be in the same place you are: streamlining and cutting nonsense. I actually find that stage very gratifying. 🙂 Hope you enjoy ALLEGIANT, and have a great week!

  3. You should make a “thing” out of Non-Fiction November. I could see NaNo-ers latching onto that–especially those writers who don’t like to read fiction while they’re writing fiction. Some might take the opportunity to read craft books while they are NaNo-ing. Worth considering, I think, Jennifer.

    Congratulations finishing the re-write! All the best with your edits this week. 🙂

  4. Yaaay! Congrats on finishing your rewrite. That’s huge. And good luck with the revision : )

  5. Hi Jennifer.
    And here I was thinking I was the only YA writer who hadn’t read the Divergent series! I started it last night. I like it so far. I’ll have to be careful with the spoilers floating around though.

    Congrats on the rewrite!

  6. Congratulations on finishing your rewrite.

    Sounds like you’ll really deserve your Thanksgiving break when it rolls around.

    Have a fantastic week!

  7. Congrats on finishing your rewrite! Good luck with your revising. I’m hoping to do a sort of NaNoRevMo this year too, except so far I’ve only reworked one chapter, so I’m not winning anything.

  8. Congrats on finishing a revision round and for all that cutting! You ROCK!!! And so glad you’re doing RevMo. I wish I could write at night sometimes, but it would be squeezing pages in between homework and bedtimes – something I can do with blogging but not effectively with writing. If that made sense. Anyway – good for you! And hope you have another great week!

  9. Congrats on the rewrite. I’ve also crammed in work to enjoy vacation time better.

  10. Happy NaNoRevMo! WriMo is currently kicking my butt. 🙂

  11. Whoohoo for finishing rewrites! And Nano!

  12. Congrats on finishing your rewrite. That’s great news!

  13. Yay!!! Congrats on finishing your rewrite! 🙂 And I’m 100% with you on the NaNoWriMo and NaNoReviseMo writers. There is SO much awesome energy going on this month and it’s so fun to be a part of it! 🙂 Have a great week!

  14. YAy for the rewrite– thanks for dropping by on my new post. I hope your November is really coming together in terms of revisions, extra work, and holidays. :0)

Leave a Reply

