Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

25 Comments

WUWAutumnWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve updated, because I’ve been busy with my rewrite. Sadly, it’s still not quite done, but I’ve made a lot of progress.

WHAT I’M READING

Not much, although I did finish (and enjoy) TEXAS GOTHIC by Rosemary Clement-Moore. And I’ll start soon on ALLEGIANT for YA Book Club.

WHAT I’M WRITING

The last five or six chapters! I’m taking Thursday off from work and I’m going to spend the day holed up in my writing cave.

Who’s with me???

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Talented teens. I say this several times a year, usually after I watch a production put on by one of the local high schools, which is precisely what happened this past Saturday. My younger bro and his school participated in a one-act festival and I thought they were fantastic. The judges agreed because they won first place! Now they’re on to the next level.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

A few weeks ago, I went to a festival of the leaves, but it was raining so I didn’t get any pics. I did however come home with several butternut squash because one of my cousins had a booth for her bakery business and she’d also brought along the spoils of her garden. I put them in my closet because I read it’s best to store them in a cool, dark place. I really hope I don’t forget about them.

Celebrating my seventh wedding anniversary. In a few months, it’ll be 18 years since I first met my husband. If someone had told me that winter night that I’d end up married to this mouthy, opinionated guy, I would have laughed. He says the reason we get along so well is because we’re both strong-willed. Whatever, as long as he knows I’m always right.

I went to a library book sale and the look my hubby gave me as I skipped through the door with an armful of books = priceless.  The smirk he gave me when I came back from the middle school book fair was even better.

I watched a zombie walk. It was a first-ever event in my town and they shambled down my street. Most weren’t in character, but it was still an entertaining few minutes.

And, finally, I PAID OFF MY CAR!!! The engine light is permanently on, the power steering fluid has to be frequently replaced, and the driver’s side door likes to lock me in, but all that crappiness officially belongs to me!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

25 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Congrats on your wedding anniversary! And on paying off the car!

  2. Congrats on your anniversary! 18 years with an equally strong-willed, mouthy type is an achievement. *grin* I’m in a relationship with a hard headed man too, so I know how it goes. I have a very over-active “I need to be right” gene.

    Also, congrats on paying off your car! That’s wonderful.

    And the last 5 or 6 chapters…YAY! I haven’t read your words yet, but I just know they are amazing. 🙂

  3. I celebrated my 7th wedding anniversary in May, but I haven’t known my husband 18 years. Wow! Congrats.

    I will be writing Thursday, but I also have to wrap my brain around a sewing project for the short film, so…hopefully our writing times will intersect!

  4. Congratulations on paying off your car! The next time I have to buy a car (which I hope isn’t for awhile), I know I’ll have to gradually pay it off too. I was able to pay for my current, first car in full because of the money I got from my settlement. And congratulations on your anniversary.

  5. That’s awesome that you paid off your car! Next week I’m due to make my last student loan payment. I’ve been paying for over ten years, and I thought this day would never come, so to say I’m excited is an understatement.

    Anyway… 🙂

    Best with luck with those final chapters! I’m in a similar place, so I’ll definitely join you in the writing cave. Happy Halloween, Jennifer!

  6. I am also married to a mouthy,opinionated guy! And I liked Texas Gothic.

  7. Happy anniversary! And good luck finishing your ms 🙂

  8. Congrats on paying off your car and happy anniversary! Good luck finishing your manuscript. Have a great weekend!

  9. Amazing things here. 🙂

    Happy anniversary and I’m enthralled by talented teens.

    I want to read Allegiant.

  10. Congrats on paying off your car! Lol. Owning crappiness is way better than not owning it. Congrats to your brother as well. 😀 And best of luck heading towards the finish line on that WiP tomorrow!

  11. Omg – why can’t my town do something so cool as a zombie walk?! Also, congrats on the seven years!!! It’s so great to find someone who completes you and understands your (ir)rational pile of book store purchases. 🙂

    And so glad you’re so close to finishing revisions! And that you’ll be Nanorevisemo-ing it with us! Yay! I need some swift kicks in my writerly butt. 🙂

    And your brother’s talented success story just makes me miss theatre so much! Good for him though! I hope they are very successful in the next round!

  12. congrats on paying off your car. I just paid of the last on my scooter happy days. That’s still in like new order though as have only had it a few weeks. But it was a lot cheaper than a car 🙂 have a great week.

  13. Happy anniversary! I love library book sales too. Just brought home a bag full from the last one.

Leave a Reply

