Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

25 Comments

WUWAutumnWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I’ve decided that October should be my reading month of “O stands for Out of the Ordinary.”

I don’t normally read a lot of sci-fi, so I went digging around on my TBR-shelf and found:

INDEPENDENCE DAY, the novelization of the movie. How did I forget I owned this??? It just goes to show how full my shelf is.

Also in my TBR-stack is:

TEXAS GOTHIC by Rosemary Clement-Moore, which is part of the YA Buccaneers October Reading Mutiny.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I plan to spend this weekend doing the following:

Writing, followed by writing and ending with writing

I’m so, so close to being done with my draft that I know it’s just going to take a few more frenzied days.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Cooler weather! Although Sunday was awesome, even with the warmer temps, because the wind was blowing hard and I kept seeing showers of yellow leaves. It’s hard to tell from a phone photo, but that glowy spot halfway down on the right is a leaf. Trust me.

IMG_20131006_120412

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I took an updated pic of my animal-tree friend. His leaves aren’t changing much yet, but I like how the other foliage looks like a colorful body.

It’s a dragon!

Oct 2013 tree dragon

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

25 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Movie novelizations! I loved reading those as a kid. I wonder if I still have any lying around . . .

  2. Lovely photos! Also, I love your writing section… Sounds like what I need to be doing. Perhaps we can meet up on Twitter and make a writing party out of it. 🙂

  3. Love the animal tree! I totally looks dragon-y. 🙂
    I had kind of wanted to use October to read some creepy books in honour of Halloween, but that totally isn’t happening. I’m struggling to get through the ones I’ve currently been reading for weeks now. Hope you’re enjoying your Out of the Ordinary picks.
    I’m loving the cooler weather too. It’s actually been below freezing every morning for the past couple/few weeks. As long as I’m waking up without snow, I’m happy!
    Have a great week, Jennifer!

  4. I didn’t even know there was a novelisation of Independence Day. I haven’t seen it in years… I should correct that oversight…

    The animal tree does look like a dragon. Awesome XD

    Have a brilliant week!

  5. I love showers of leaves! Although here on the prairies, if we get a good wind, the leaves have been known to fall off the trees all in a single afternoon. No joke! That tree dragon is going to look even cooler once its leaves change. A tree like that seems like inspiration for a good kids’ book. Have fun with your frenzied writing weekend! I hope the words flow!

  6. Really loved your photo’s especially the dragon tree 🙂

  7. Yayyy! I’m so glad that TEXAS GOTHIC is in your TBR list. I hope you like it! 🙂 Good luck with finishing your draft! That’s so exciting that you’re almost finished. Can’t wait to hear that you’ve completed it! 🙂

  8. When I NaNoed my current WIP, I was well past the 50K mark before Nov 30, but I was determined to finish it–so I did. It’s hard to resist the lure of the light at the end of the tunnel. Go for it, Jennifer!! I look forward to reading next Wednesday how you finished the draft and you’re giving yourself some cool reward for your work. 🙂

  9. Happy writing.

    I love that dragon tree.

  10. Love the animal tree. Good luck finishing up your draft.

  11. Hahaha! Your animal-tree friend seems beguiling. Good luck with the writing, followed by writing, and then writing some more. Sometimes those are the best types of days.

  12. Oh, I am right there with you on being so close to THE END. I’m both thrilled and terrified to finish this draft. It needs A LOT of work, but I’m hoping it’ll be something fantastic one day. Best of luck writing all the words, Jennifer!

  13. You have a dragon tree!! That is so cool : ) Congrats on nearing the end. That is so incredibly exciting.

  14. Gah! I’ve missed all this! Sorry, I’m just catching up. I love the dragon tree! And I might have to check out INDEPENDENCE DAY. I love that movie!

Leave a Reply

