Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

32 Comments

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.WUW PLANEBORDER2

WHAT I’M READING

NEVER GO BACK by Lee Child

It’s the 18th book in a series about an ex-MP. There’s a certain sense of formula to every story – good guy comes in and kicks bad guy butt – but I still devour each one. I think sometimes we all need a “happy ending,” whether it’s in action form or something like a Hallmark movie.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m about halfway done with my rewrite! I decided to go through the last half (already written, but a mess) and cut some parts that no longer fit the story. I chopped about 13k!

Now it’s time to put my head down and charge through the rest of this draft by the end of the month.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

I’ve lost a few hours this week browsing craft sites and videos full of bags made out of pillowcases and cute no-sew skirts and all kinds of awesome, homemade goodness that people came up with.

I’m hoping to get my craft on after I finish my rewrite. Meaning, mostly I just want to cut things up and smash them back together because it looks like fun.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Last Friday, my grandmother was in town so I got to visit with her for a few hours. A group of us were at a restaurant and as we were leaving, a man at the table beside ours asked my dad something like, “How old is your elderly friend?” (meaning my grandmother’s husband). My dad told him 92 and the man said, “Hmm, only a year older than me!”

The next day, I was in the grocery store and the customer in front of me in line was telling the cashier how he was 92.

fireworksNonagenarian Power!

If I live to be in my 90s, you better believe I’ll tell anyone within earshot how old I am because:

WOW.

In other news, I baked cookies for my younger brother’s drama club fundraiser. Malt chocolate chip.

IMG_20130928_141648

After I’d decided what to make, my husband picked up a box of brownie mix. I told him, no, I’m making cookies. And he said, “I know, but I want brownies. With homemade peanut butter frosting.”

Needless to say, I pretty much ate baked goods the entire weekend.

Not that I’m complaining…

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

32 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Yum! I’m all about the baked goods, especially this time of year. Must hold myself back. 😉 You’re making awesome progress on this rewrite. Cutting 13K is huge! But if the story is better for it, then the cutting is so worth it, isn’t it? I know what you mean about losing hours to crafty stuff, whether it’s browsing for ideas or actually doing what you find. I’m intrigued by these no-sew skirts you speak of… Enjoy the rest of your week, Jennifer! (And your baked goods.)

  2. I bet your grandparents have some stories to tell. Both my grandmothers lived to be quite old–one was an nonagenarian when she died, and the other wasn’t far off, I don’t think.

    Well done for getting half-way through your re-write, Jennifer! I’m a little over half-way through my revisions, so I’m encouraged since we both have the same goal: be done by the end of the month. I’d wave pom-poms to cheer you on, but that would look very silly. 🙂

    Have a wonderful, productive writing week!

  3. I’ve had some great-grandparents who lived to their nineties, and my original boss at my old newspaper job passed away a week before his 91st birthday. He’d kept working until about a month before he passed on.

    Good luck with the rest of your rewrite. It’s never easy to undertake a radical revision as you did, but sometimes it’s in the best interest of the book.

  4. Baked goods and living well into your 90s. Sounds like a fun weekend! Glad the rewrite is going so well. I can’t think of a draft where I didn’t cut giant chunks of words entirely. It was just easier for me to get it right without the lamer words staring at me.

  5. Malt chocolate chip? YUM!

    I can’t imagine what it must be like to reach your 90s. A few of my aunts made it, so I’m determined to get that far too, and be like “Yo, I’m 90!” to everyone I see 😉

    Cutting 13k is amazing! Hope the rest of the rewrite goes well.

  6. Mm, baked goods. I meant to bake last weekend and got lazy–maybe I will this weekend. Although it’s supposed to be around 80 degrees again, so I don’t know that I’ll be inclined to turn on the oven!

  7. Baked goods are awesome. I can’t remember the last time I baked anything though. I went through a faze of baking like crazy a while ago and brought all the bits and pieces but the urge quickly left me.

  8. All your talk of crafty projects and baking is making me want to toss my writing out the window for a while and do other fun things. I wish fall lasted all year long, because that’s when I feel like doing all that good stuff. Those cookies look so delicious, by the way!

    My husband reads all Lee Childs’ books too. I haven’t tried any of them yet, but they sound interesting. At first my hubby couldn’t stop ranting about Tom Cruise being cast as Jack Reacher (because really?) but once we saw the movie we both actually enjoyed it.

    Congrats on chopping 13k! Sometimes that’s a bigger accomplishment than drafting 13k! Have an awesome week!

    • Hah, I also ranted about Tom Cruise! I still haven’t seen the movie, because I just couldn’t bring myself to pay money for a ticket. Whenever it pops up on cable, though, I will watch it, just because.

  9. I’m coming to visit you! All those baked goodies sound YUMMY.

    Also, congrats on making SO MUCH progress on your rewrite! That is so awesome! I’m hoping you accomplish a lot by the end of the month!

    Have a great week!

  10. Mmm… Malt Chocolate Chip Cookies sound divine! Best of luck as you continue working on your rewrite. You can do it!

  11. Malt Chocolate Chip Cookies sound good. Good luck with your rewrite. Have a great weekend!

  12. I sometimes get in the mood for crafts.

    Those cookies look delicious.

    Happy writing.

  13. Wow, congrats on your rewrite progress! That is fantastic! And I get the “make stuff” bug this time of year too. There must be something in the air. Cutting stuff up and mashing it back together again sounds like a blast. Doesn’t it make you wish you had a group of people to hang out and make stuff with? Perhaps we should start a Writers/Makers group. 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful week!

  14. Congrats on your rewrite progress! That’s awesome! I love doing crafty things. Especially as a break from writing. It’s so relaxing. 🙂 Have a great week, Jennifer!

  15. Nonagenarian is one of my favorite words. Seriously. I love books I can count on. Sarah Dessen is my candy. And Carl Hiassen.

  16. The malt chocolate chip cookies look awesome! Glad to hear your rewrite is going well. You should finish up just in time for NANO if you want to do it.

Leave a Reply

