Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

32 Comments

KITERUFFLED2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Not to sound like a broken record, but…

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

I’m slowly but surely getting to the end

And it’s not all bad; some of the character descriptions are cool:

Major de Coverly was a splendid, awe-inspiring, grave old man with a massive leonine head and an angry shock of white hair that raged like a blizzard around his stern, patriarchal face.

WHAT I’M WRITING

*whispers* I think I might have a title

It just popped into my head a few days ago and seems perfect, but I’m letting it steep (like a tea bag in my head) for awhile before I share.

I’m still determinedly plowing along in my rewrite.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Quiet, unguarded moments.

The other day I drove by an elementary school in town (middle of the day) and there was a deer, munching grass on the front lawn like he/she didn’t have a care in the world. There are some things I miss out on by living in the country (public transportation, buskers, etc.), but I doubt I’d stumble across a scene like that in the city.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Handstanding!!! I love that pretty much any word can become a verb, just by sticking “ing” on it.

Video here: http://twitpic.com/desxn6

I said on Twitter it was my 5 seconds of glory. Make that 3. I fell over pretty fast. But I had fun doing it!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

32 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I read Catch-22 while recovering from my severely broken leg ten years ago. I absolutely loved it, though I HATED the Seventies movie that was extremely loosely “based on” the book. It’s one of the funniest books I’ve ever read, and a great antiwar novel.

  2. WOOHOO! Congrats on the handstand! And yay for a title! Also, can you send the title fairy my way? My story needs one. If I call it the blob too much longer, I might actually keep it. 🙂

    And I love catching unguarded moments like that. Our old house had a backyard great for deer sightings. I miss it.

    Have a great week!

    • At my old apartment, my neighbor used to feed the wildlife, which got a little weird at times, esp when there were squirrels fighting for nuts right outside my door.

      I think “the blob” is pretty catchy 😉

  3. Catch-22 was one of the books I had to read for school that I actually loved. I ended up buying it a few years back and rereading and still love it.

  4. Ha! You did the handstand! Good for you. 🙂 I know what you mean about sounding like a broken record. Hello! I’m reading WAR AND PEACE and probably will be until I’m 80. 😛 I love that description you shared from Catch-22. I hope the title you came up with is a keeper. I love when that happens. I come up with a whole list of possibilities, none of which really grab me, and then out of nowhere something just pops into my head. Something that I end up loving. So yeah, I hope that’s the case here! Have a wonderful week, Jennifer! 🙂

  5. Well done on the handstand! I don’t even want to venture to try, because I don’t want to injure myself which would be the likely result, but good for you!

    Very exciting to maybe have a title, that is a great moment that somehow makes everything feel way more legit. “My book is cohesive enough to have a title, yay!” I remember thinking that when I discovered mine.

    I live in the woods, close to cities, but it’s easy to forget that where I am. I love what you called the observation of nature at work, “unguarded moments”. 🙂

    • I love the area where I live – on one side of the road, there’s a shopping center and across the road, cows are grazing in a field. It’s a great combo of city/country. Or as city as my little town can be 🙂

  6. Congratulations on the handstand!

    Ooooh, a title. Those things are tricky. Hope yours sticks 😀

  7. I can’t remember the last time I was able to do a handstand. My son has been trying to do them lately. He is getting quite good at it. Kids are so flexible though, some of the things he can do makes me very envious lol.
    Hope the rest of your week is great. 🙂

  8. I must say, the “shock of hair” description is beginning to sound like a cliche. I’ll give Heller a pass because he was writing a good few years ago, but I keep coming across that description of hair and I’m wondering if it’s getting a bit worn out. How about “… and hair that looked like a St. Bernard with 50,000 volts running through it”? 🙂

    We live in a rural area, and it’s not uncommon for us to see deer along the road–sometimes alive! 🙂 Seriously, though, we’ve driven past fields and seen 4 or 5 deer standing around eating. We’ve also had opossums and even a raccoon on our porch. There are definitely pros to living in the boonies.

    Have a great week, Jennifer.

  9. Oooo, so exciting that you might have figured out a title! I struggled to pick a title for my ms too, and in the end stuck with the working title because it turned out to be perfect for it. I hope after mulling it over your idea ends up sticking!

    I liked your story about seeing the deer. There’s a rabbit that comes to eat grass in the schoolyard across from our house sometimes. Every night when I’m done writing, I check out the window for it. 🙂

    Nice work on that handstand! I’m so not coordinated or balanced enough to do that!

  10. Yay for coming up with I title. I can’t wait to hear what it is. Good luck during the upcoming week.

  11. Okay, I love that an awesome title just popped into your head. I am horrible with titles. My agent just asked me to consider some new titles for one of my stories and I went completely blank. I ended up getting help from her, my husband, and one of my amazing CPs before one finally stuck. Also… handstanding! Incredible!

  12. What an awesome way to have fun! I don’t think I’ve done a handstand since my gymnastic days, which promptly ended the minute I became tall and uncoordinated with my new limbs. Congrats on coming up with a great title. For some reason that moment always makes the book seem more real. 🙂

  13. I’ve never done a handstand before.

    I love those moments in nature, although I don’t seen many of them.

    Happy writing.

  14. Congrats on having a title! I still need one for the WIP that I’m working on. Good luck with your rewrite. Have a great weekend!

  15. I’m not sure I have the arm strength to do a handstand, but I hear it’s great practice for your internal organs! And yay for titles!

  16. I love that you’ve taken on doing handstands for this month’s YA Buccaneers dare. LOOOVE. And I’m super impressed by your video! 🙂 I’ve always wanted to be able to do handstands, but I’m absolutely wretched at keeping my balance. Tara Stiles (hip yogi lady) has a great video on how to work up to a handstand … It hasn’t helped me very much yet (I think I need to work on flexibility first), but maybe you’ll find it useful: http://blip.tv/yoga-other-useful-stuff-with-tara-stiles/handstand-helper-3139687.

    Anyhow – you might have a title?! That’s so exciting!!

    Good luck with your rewrite! I hope it goes well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

