Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Reading A-Z

6 Comments

I snagged this fun survey from Melissa Sarno.

Author You’ve Read the Most Books From:

I’ve read all the Harry Potter books so that’s seven for J.K. Rowling.

Maggie Stiefvater clocks in at five. Soon to be six, as soon as I get my hands on THE DREAM THIEVES.

Best Sequel Ever:

This is a hard one to answer b/c series tend to blur together (I usually read them all in a row), so I’m just gonna say: not sure

Currently Reading:

CATCH-22 by Joseph Heller

Drink of Choice While Reading:

I pretty much only drink water, so I’ll go with that

E-reader or Physical Book

I generally prefer physical, but I’m not against the ebook

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School:

Jonah Griggs (JELLICOE ROAD) mixed with Leland (SECOND CHANCE SUMMER) with a dash of Adam (IF I STAY)

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

IN COLD BLOOD by Truman Capote

Hidden Gem Book:

MOONGLASS by Jessi Kirby

Important Moment In My Reading Life:

This computer chat exchange that took place in 2003 between me and one of my friends (the flea was an inside joke, ignore that line):

HER: brb-must find stationary while it is on my mind
ME: k
HER: you will NEVER guess what i just found in the bottom of my stationary box
HER: OMG
ME: ???
HER: never guess
ME: the flea?
HER: your LIBRARY CARD

So apparently I didn’t use the library for a huge stretch of time and I didn’t even realize I was missing my library card. No idea how it ended up in a box of stationary. Glad to have it back.

Just Finished:

THE END GAMES by T. Michael Martin

Kind of Books You Won’t Read:

I’ll read pretty much anything, but I tend to steer clear of ghost stories and books with evil children b/c they freak me out.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

War and Peace. Hands down.

Major Book Hangover Because Of:

Confession: I had to look up what that even was.

I’ll say HP & THE DEATHLY HALLOWS.

I decided I’d just read “a little” before I started work that day (remember I work from home). Then I thought I’d just read until lunch…

When my husband came home from his job, he found me on the couch, sobbing as I read the last chapters.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Two. I swear that’s all.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA by Ernest Hemingway.

Preferred Place To Read:

My recliner

Quote that Inspires You / Gives You All the Feels From A Book You’ve Read:

I wouldn’t say it inspires me, but in PERSUASION when Wentworth pulls out the line:

You pierce my soul

I go a little weak in the knees.

Reading Regret:

Uh…

I can think of a few books I wish I’d never read, but I’ll keep it polite and not mention names

Series You’ve Started and Need To Finish:

The books that come after ACROSS THE UNIVERSE by Beth Revis

Three of Your All-Time Favorite Books:

See letter “O,” plus…

Two of my childhood faves:

THREE BY THE SEA by Edward and James Marshall

CAPTAIN KITTY by Godfrey Lynn and Elizabeth Webbe

I’m sensing a pattern here that tells me I must have been a sea captain a past life

Unapologetic Fangirl for:

The Babysitters Club. I was even watching the short-lived show on Netflix not too long ago.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

I’m stoked about THE DREAM THIEVES, which just came out

Worst Bookish Habit

Having a shelf full of books, but letting them collect dust as I check things out from the library

X Marks the Spot: Start At the Top And Pick the 27th Book:

I have no idea what this means.

The 27th book I mentioned? Captain Kitty, I think

A book I read when I was 27? No idea. Wait, maybe I do, let me quickly scroll through the e-journal I kept at the time. I mention that: [Hubby] bought me a time travel book- I think he wants my brain to explode.

The 27th book I read this year? Amusingly enough: Miss Pickerell on the Trail by Ellen MacGregor and Dora Pantell

Your Latest Book Purchase:

BROKEN by A.E. Rought

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late)

THE 5th WAVE by Rick Yancey

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

6 thoughts on “Reading A-Z

  1. This is so fun! It’s kind of like a history of your reading habits. I’m not even sure what I’d answer for some of these, but I enjoyed seeing what you picked for each category!

  2. What a fun tag. It was interesting reading about your reading.

  3. Yay, I’m glad you procrastinated with me by doing this. I just realized I must have copy and pasted the survey wrong on my blog because I knew that X was to find the 27th book on your SHELF. Oooops, soooorry. I was reading The 5th Wave for my book club but I was finding it so daunting to get through. Maybe I should stick with it.

    • Okay, I went and counted (just because) and it’s NIGHT by Elie Wiesel.

      The 5th Wave is fairly long, I had to put it down a few times. My husband blew through it in no time and every time I stepped away, he was all, “Why??? Keep reading!”

Leave a Reply

