Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

22 Comments

WUW PLANEBORDER2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Working my way (still) through Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. I’ll reserve judgement until I’m finished, but I think I can safely say this book will not end up on my top reads of the year list.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m a third of the way through my JULES rewrite!!!

And once I reach the halfway point, it’ll be mostly revising existing scenes, and I feel like I can see the end in sight! My original goal was to be done with my draft by the end of the year, but it may be as soon as Halloween.

*excited, happy dance*

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Rescuing lost puppy dogs. My husband was outside Saturday morning and saw this guy:

IMG_20130914_103003

He was running into the street, so hubs brought him inside. There was a collar, but no tags, so I called the animal shelter and gave a description and then I posted a pic on my Facebook page

In the meantime, we played catch with the dog.

And played

And played.

The humans grew tired, but the puppy didn’t have an off-switch.

But that was okay, because through the magic of Facebook shares, we were able to find his owners within a few hours.  The little guy had only wandered about half a mile, but he’d crossed a really busy street in the process. Thank goodness for luck and alert drivers.

In a strange coincidence, on the same day, and several states away, one of my cousins also found a lost dog.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

He’s totally going to make fun of me for saying this, but my husband does. The man is like a magnet for lost animals; I guess because they know instinctually he will take care of them. He’s a good guy, that husband of mine.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

22 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. That dog is adorable! And way to go Facebook, sharing him all the way back to his owners.
    I have to say, I read CATCH-22 a few years back and I had a similar reaction.

  2. Awww – the dog is SO cute! I can see why you rescued him and so glad his tail (haha – I typed it this way on accident…not changing it) had a happy ending. 🙂

    Congrats on all the great revision progress!!! I’m rooting you on! And yes to inspiring hubbys! Mine inspires me often. 🙂

    Have a great week!

  3. Awwww! I love that your hubby is a magnet for lost animals. And that little guy is so adorable! It’s amazing how something like FB can be used for this kind of thing. Very cool.

    And yay for making such awesome progress on your WIP! You can totally get that bad boy done before Halloween. We’re all rooting for you. 🙂

  4. Oh. My. Goodness. That dog is ADORABLE! I’m glad he’s back at home now, safe and sound.

    I haven’t read CATCH-22 in so long. I remember loving it in high school, though, and thinking it was super funny. I’ve been meaning to re-read it for years. I wonder if I’ll feel the same now.

  5. awww what a great post and what a cute dog. It so nice to see people helping animals. In my area recently there has been a lot of dogs getting stolen. My friend even caught a couple in the act of trying to take his too dogs, in the middle of the day. Trying to temp them into a van outside his gate using squeaky toys. It a real worry and I am keeping a very close eye on my three now. Just to be safe. I’m just glad he caught them at it and was able to save his dog, a little westie in the next town over, got taken the same day, it’s so sad.

  6. Sounds like the dog is luck to have found you! ^_^

    Hooray for the rewrite progress. Hope this is an equally productive week for you!

  7. I’m so happy you found the dog’s owners! He’s such a little cutie! My hubby is an animal magnet too, which is why we have 2 cats and a dog–all rescues.

    Way to go with the rewrite! Sounds like you’re making amazing progress! If you finish up by Halloween, you’ll have to celebrate with extra candy! 😀

  8. Aww… I love that you helped that poor little pup. I bet its owners were so grateful! And yay for being ahead of schedule on your rewrite! That never happens to me. 😉

  9. Yay for the WIP.

    I was forced to read Catch-22 for AP English in high school. I liked many parts of it, but overall thought it was painful to read.

    I’m glad you found the dog’s owner.

  10. CATCH-22 is one of those books I’ve felt like I need to read–a modern classic, you know. Now I’m not too sure I want to. Maybe one day. Perhaps. There are so many books I really want to read, who knows, I may never get to it. Doesn’t sound like it would be a great loss. Sorry Mr. Heller. I’m sure you’re a good writer. 🙂

    I hope you have a productive week, Jennifer.

  11. Congrats on all your writing progress. I had to smile at your lackluster review of Catch-22. I tried to read it a few years ago and gave up about a third of the way through. It seems like the type of book that can inspire lots of term papers and class discussions in an English class, but when I’m reading for pleasure I’d rather take a snappy fast paced YA.

Leave a Reply

