Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

26 Comments

Whats Up WedWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

Who’s completely freaked out now?

This girl.

I pretty much held my breath through the entire book. So much fear, loneliness, anxiety…yet still determination and hope.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m still trucking along on my Jules rewrite. The parts I’m working on now are straight up NEW, not just tweaking/revising. It’s been interesting to dig deeper into the relationship between Jules and Jesse. How they go from this point:

I glared at Jesse and his eyes met mine, but instead of the cockiness I expected, he seemed embarrassed as he quickly looked away. A lone butterfly flapped around in my stomach and I mentally willed it to die because there was no way in hell I’d ever soften toward Jesse Macken. Not after what he did to me freshman year.

To falling completely in love.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Remembering random TV shows.

Way back in the summer of 1992, there was a teen soap called Swan’s Crossing. Me, my older brother, and a few people we knew all watched it. Other than confirmation from bro and Wikipedia that I did not imagine this show with Sarah Michelle Gellar and bumbling bad guys, I feel like I imagined it because I can barely find info about it. Does anyone else remember this one?

Thinking of my YA Buccaneers September dare: Doing a handstand!* Be prepared for video in a few weeks, people! I’m sure my husband will enjoy watching me fall over many times.

Discovering a tree outside my local library that looks amusingly like some shaggy-headed animal.

IMG_20130904_112630

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

My work contract was renewed! Sunday marked four years since I became an independent contractor and it’s the longest I’ve ever stayed with any job. I love, LOVE (did I mention LOVE?) the freedom and flexibility of working from home.

*Disclaimer: I’ve done handstands before, but not for many, many years (and never very well), so this is basically a test to see if I can briefly hang upside down without breaking something (an arm, the ground, etc.)

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

26 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I like the snippet you shared! And congratulations on the contract renewal. I can’t wait to be in a place where I really love my job. Hope you have a great week!

  2. Congrats on having your work contract renewed… I imagine that’s exciting and a big relief! Also, your excerpt is fabulous. If that bit was printed on the back of a book I happened to pick up in a bookstore, I’d buy it immediately. What did Jesse do freshman year?! Glad you’re enjoying THE 5TH WAVE… I really liked that one too!

  3. I love the bit about the lone butterfly flapping around in her stomach. Such a great description! Now of course, I want to read your book. 🙂

    And I can’t wait to see that handstand video. I tried to do a front handspring on the grass the other day (something I used to be able to do when I was a kid, no problem) and succeeded in knocking the wind outta me. Too bad there wasn’t a video of THAT. 🙂

  4. I love your dare! I’m at the age where I might actually break something if I try that (old people probs – jeez), but I like the dare idea at YA Buccaneers and I have a thought as to what mine can be. Hmmm.

    And yes – THE FIFTH WAVE. So glad I finally got on that reading wagon. SO GOOD!!!

    Have a great week!

  5. I saw THE FIFTH WAVE on my bookshelf last night and sighed heavily as I remembered how much I really need to read it. After I’ve finished the book I’m currently reading, and the one after that I really need to read. While I was reading THE AGE OF MIRACLES, a story built on the premise of the Earth’s rotation slowing down, I couldn’t help thinking at least the longer days would give me more time to get through this mountain of books I need to read! 🙂

    I don’t remember ever watching “Swan’s Crossing,” but that name rings a very loud bell. I seem to recall seeing it advertised, at least. I was new to the US in 1992, but for some reason I remember that much. So no, you’re not delusional. Or if you are, so am I. Maybe that’s no comfort… 😀

    Have a great reading/writing week, Jennifer!!

  6. Congrats on the contract renewal! Working from home would be awesome. 🙂 Love the snippet you shared from your WIP. I really like stories that move from loathing to love. ♥

    Oh, and that tree looks a bit like a camel to me. 😛

  7. Congrats on the work news and the writing new scenes in your revision. That kind of revising usually delivers the goods. I love the snippet you shared too!

  8. The 5th Wave is still the best book I’ve read this year. Absolutely phenomenal.

    Good luck training for your handstand 😉 And hooray for the contract renewal. Yaaaay!

  9. Ha! That tree totally looks like a llama!

    I enjoyed your excerpt, and you’ve definitely made me curious as to how these two characters will do a complete 180 and fall in love. That’s my favorite kind of relationship to read and write about!

    Good luck with the rewrite and your handstand efforts!

  10. Your excerpt is great! I loved The Fifth Wave too. Have a great weekend!

  11. That tree totally looks like an alpaca!
    The Fifth Wave really, really freaked me out. But I loved it.

  12. He must’ve done something horrible.

    I like the tree.

    I used to watch many obscure shows in the 80s and 90s. Sometimes I felt like I was the only one watching them, although I know that wasn’t the case.

  13. Oh, I’ve heard SO many good things about THE FIFTH WAVE so I need to get around to reading it soon! Although from the sound of it, I’m going to be pretty scared once I do…it doesn’t take much to freak me out (that’s why I can only watch The Walking Dead during the day!)

    That extract is great 🙂 You’ve totally got me intrigued…now I need to know more about Jules and Jesse!

Leave a Reply

