Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

18 Comments

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.Whats Up Wed

WHAT I’M READING

After being gutted by SECOND CHANCE SUMMER, I wanted something way lighter and MEANT TO BE by Lauren Morrill hit the spot. It was predictable and somewhat unbelievable at times, but still a cute read.

I also read GOING VINTAGE by Lindsey Leavitt which had a fun concept:

When Mallory’s boyfriend, Jeremy, cheats on her with an online girlfriend, Mallory decides the best way to de-Jeremy her life is to de-modernize things too. Inspired by a list of goals her grandmother made in1962, Mallory swears off technology and returns to a simpler time (when boyfriends couldn’t cheat with computer avatars). The List:

1. Run for pep club secretary
2. Host a fancy dinner party/soiree
3. Sew a dress for Homecoming
4. Find a steady
5. Do something dangerous

I liked Mallory, who said amusing things like:

I’ve driven by here, but I’ve never actually hiked up. Hiking seems very, I don’t know, laborious. (150)

And I completely loved Ginnie, who was the most awesome, supportive BFF sister ever.

Mallory’s issues with her boyfriend (aside from the cheating) were something a lot of people (teen/adult or guy/girl) could relate to –trying to find your own identity after someone else has pretty much been your entire life.

It was an enjoyable read although it’s hard to forgive this passage:

She bought him a Baltimore Orioles hat online. Yes, the Orioles, the most boring team in the major leagues. (85)

That hurt my little heart as it pumped orange and black blood through my body*

Finally, since Banned Books Week is coming up soon (September 22-28), I’m planning to read Catch-22 by Joseph Heller, which has been challenged in the past due to “indecent language.” My husband has been bugging me for years to read it. I’m finally doing it!

WHAT I’M WRITING

SO MUCH. LIKE WHOA.

So last week I finally got a new laptop battery and I’m no longer tethered to my desk, staring at a wall. I can pick up my laptop and go places with it and it doesn’t cut off after five seconds! That really gave me a kick in the creative butt and I cranked out like 30 pages. This is major since I usually only manage a page or two a day.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Failing miserably at my first macramé purse attempt. I took a wrong step somewhere and it ended up looking more like a Barbie dress than anything else. Blah. Next time I’m ignoring the pattern.

Working off my Summer Seven.

“What’s that?” you ask.

Well, it’s similar to the “Freshman Fifteen” and Holiday weight.

Every year, I go into a sort-of summer hibernation. I hide in the dark and air-conditioning, stuffing my face with snacks like it’s going out of style while generally just feeling cranky.

Insert September and I stumble, blurry-eyed, into the great outdoors.

Ahh, fresh air. Since I work from home, it’s really (sadly) easy to spend all day in front of the computer in my pjs, but I’m trying to get outside, at least for a few minutes, every day.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

That fresh air I mentioned above. Even though September is still overly warm to me, I can feel myself slipping out of bear-cave mode.

*For all you non-baseball people out there, those are the Orioles’ colors.

My love of my team can be summed up by this Seinfeld clip:

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

18 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Sitting in front of the computer in pjs. Yep, that’s me. 😛 (No, really. I’m currently sitting in front of the computer in my pjs.) I hear you on the Summer Seven thing. Same problem here. Fall should be a great time to get active again, especially without all the crazy hot temperatures. Good for you for getting so much writing done! That’s fantastic. I have a copy of GOING VINTAGE on my Kindle, and I really need to read it already. Fun and light feels appealing to me right now. Have a great week, Jennifer! 🙂

  2. Location makes such a difference. I go into the hibernation mode of sitting in front of my computer in my PJs all day in the winter when it’s rainy but spend as much time as possible outside in the summer. But then 80 is considered hot here even in August.

  3. Hooray for a new lease on life for your laptop! Batteries are awesome, aren’t they? Congratulations on cranking out so many pages!

    I’m quite lucky in that my day job involves lots of outdoor time. Aaaah, all that fresh air is wonderful. Enjoy!

  4. Oh geez, I’m so glad I’m not the only one who goes into “bear cave” mode during the summer. I’m pasty as all get out so I sunburn, plus my allergies go nuts, AND that’s when I tend to buckle down on the writing. I need to work off at least seven pounds after being glued to my laptop for an entire season too.

    GOING VINTAGE sounds like a fun read. I might have to add that one to the TBR list!

    Enjoy your new laptop sans cord! Sounds like that’s been a major bonus already! 🙂

  5. Hehe – Summer Seven. Mine is usually more like Summer Seventeen. 🙂 And you have been writing like WHOA! Go YOU! I love seeing all this progress! Also, must check out Going Vintage. Sounds awesome!

  6. Congrats on the fantastic writing week! New laptop battery is a wonderful, wonderful thing isn’t it? The day I figured out my WiFi reached to the hammock in the back acre was a monumental moment in writing for me. 🙂

    And getting outside is essential for sanity isn’t it? I used to hibernate in the winters, (I won’t even tell you what that winter weight rhymed with) but now I live in a place where winter is the best part. I’m giddy about it, instead of facing the changing seasons with my former dread.

    I’m sorry about your purse. I was looking forward to pictures. I love it that you make things. There’s something so satisfying about toting around something you made with your own hands. (Of course, half my projects flop though)

    • I try to put a positive spin on summer – without it, I probably wouldn’t love fall so much b/c I’d have nothing to compare it to.

      Once I stop glaring at my mangled craft attempt, I’m jumping back on the macrame wagon and there will be pics!

  7. Those sound like fun books.

    I think I need a new laptop battery. It cuts off, too.

    I actually went out this summer and have a tan to prove it. Usually I stay indoors most of the time.

Leave a Reply

