Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

27 Comments

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.Whats Up Wednesday

WHAT I’M READING

Second Chance SummerSecond Chance Summer by Morgan Matson, for both YA Book Club and YA Buccaneers’ Reading Mutiny Challenge. So far, it’s all things I love about YA contemp – relatable main character, family dynamics and the hint of romance. I’ll post a full review next Tuesday.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m happy to report I’m out of the same-chapter trap!

I went over the pages I’d already rewritten and made a few changes – I got rid of a secondary character, changed a few details about another, and added in little pieces of background info. Once I did that, it was like, “bam!” I’m excited about my WIP again! I’m even formulating a query in my head, which is huge, because before I was only drawing a blank.

Now if I could just think of a title…

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Watching more terrible movies with my mom and younger brother. This time it was 2003’s THE ROOM, which Wikipedia classifies as an “independent romantic drama,” and which Entertainment Weekly called “The Citizen Kane of bad movies.”

Just…

WOW.

My brother summed it up perfectly afterward:

Let’s never watch that again.

In other news, I macraméd my purse strap! Check it out:

IMG_20130825_185539

Those two piles of yarn will one day be the body of my bag. In theory.

Also, I decided to teach myself to juggle for this month’s YA Buccaneers’ Dare and while I don’t suck quite as hardcore as when I first started practicing, I’m still not ready to throw up a video of my awesomeness. So here’s a pic that totally makes me look like I know what I’m doing (if you squint and don’t look for more than a second):

052$IMAG0008

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

I know a lot of people mourn the end of summer, but when Labor Day rolls around, I start celebrating things like the promise of sweater days and the anticipation of everything pumpkin flavored. There are few things better than standing outside, shivering in the approaching chill while watching the sun set.

When the leaves start changing colors, expect pictures! My town even has a festival to celebrate it.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

27 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Love the juggling! I haven’t seen The Room–despite the fact that my cousin-in-law used to host screenings of it. But I have heard things.

    I just started Second Chance Summer last night, and I love it so far!

  2. I have no idea what it means to macrame a purse strap. But I am utterly impressed. Also with your juggling skills. Congrats on getting out of the same chapter trap!!

  3. While I’m lamenting the approach of autumn, I’m glad summer’s coming to an end and school’s back in so I don’t have to spend so much time at work ^^; Is that entirely too selfish?

    Juggling, yay! Go you 😀 And hooray for escaping the same chapter trap. Have an awesome writing week!

  4. Congrats on getting out of the same chapter trap!!! And getting excited about your MS again. That is a very good place to be, isn’t it?

    I love that you are learning how to juggle for the Dare! I expect you to be juggling fire and/or knives before long. And then we will Definitely need a video. No excuses. 🙂

    And oh “everything pumpkin flavored”…I cannot wait. I’m already having Halloween dreams. Although our Fall here lasts about three weeks, followed by 4 days of Winter and then we are right back into Summer. (Still can’t wait for soup weather though.)

    Hope you have a fantastic week!

  5. Yay for escaping the first-chapter trap, and I’m so happy to hear that you’re feeling excited about your story again… What a relief! I’m down to write in the evenings via Twitter any time you’re up for it. 🙂

  6. Yes – I too love fall. Football, cooler weather. Pumpkins. Now that school has started, I’m ready!

    And so proud of you for getting out of the chapter and making so much progress! And this: “Now if I could just think of a title…” SO ME. I have a pitch and 75% of a draft and bits of a query…NO TITLE. It will come to us though.

    Also, SECOND CHANCE SUMMER – swoon! LOVE that book!

  7. Yay, happy to hear you’re loving your WIP again! And very cool that you’re learning to juggle. I’m so uncoordinated I’d somehow manage to give myself double black eyes. Good luck gearing up for your September of writing!

    • I’m using tennis balls and have found that standing on the bed while practicing keeps them within reach when I drop them. When I was standing in the living room, it was, “Watch out!” as they bounced and slammed into everything in sight.

  8. I’m so with you on loving Labor Day and going into fall. I’m glad you made it through the slump and are excited to be writing again. Regarding The Room: That movie makes me laugh so hard every time I think of it. As terrible as it is, I think it’s worth the experience. 🙂

  9. I’m looking forward to Labor Day.

    I’m glad you’re excited about your WIP.

  10. I’m ready for some good Fall weather, turning leaves, Thanksgiving, and all that wonderful run-up to Christmas. Bring on the sweaters, the smells of cinnamon and pecan pie, and the end of Daylight Saving–my favorite time of year! 🙂

  11. I love fall so much! And for the same reasons you mention. Though, I do miss living in Eastern Canada where they have maples that turn vibrant shades of red. Out here in the West, we get a lot of golden yellow, which is pretty in its own right, but it’s not the same. Can’t wait to see pictures! I’m reading SECOND CHANCE SUMMER too and loving it. It’s so, so good, but then I’m not surprised because I loved AMY & ROGER as well. And hooray for getting out of the same-chapter trap! What a relief, hey? Here’s hoping it goes smoothly from here on in. 🙂

  12. I think your tags at the end are every bit as fun as your post! LOL. :0)

  13. I’m sad to see summer go this year more because it means less free time, but fall is my absolute favourite season. I love sweater days and everything pumpkin flavoured too. Just bought some pumpkin chai tea the other day actually. I can’t wait to see your autumn pictures!

    I’m glad to hear things are back on track with your story. It’s always a great feeling when things come unstuck and the ideas start flowing again. Good luck with that query too! (and the juggling!)

Leave a Reply

