Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

27 Comments

Whats Up WedWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Eleanor and ParkEleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (image from Goodreads)

Such a perfect cover for a sweet, bittersweet and nostalgic story. Loved all the music mentions; it reminded me of the late 80s/early 90s and my own stacks of cassettes.

WHAT I’M WRITING

Lots of progress on JULES!

After four hours and 20,000 chopped words later, I have something resembling a coherent story!

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I attempted to watch the meteor shower, but had no luck. Darn you clouds!

Fighting a trojan that wanted to take over my computer. It took hours to get the stupid thing completely off. It was something called a “bitcoin miner” and I barely know what a bitcoin is. The person who created the virus needs a serious slapping.

Burning coconut. My husband saw a coconut while at the grocery store and since he’d never tried fresh, he decided to buy it. After he made a small mess opening it, I nearly broke my food processor trying to chop it. Since I was growing more and more annoyed with the lengthy process, I didn’t bother to make the pieces uniform. So some of it browned, some of it burned and some of it didn’t seem any different. And oh yeah, my husband doesn’t even like coconut. *facepalm*

 WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

80’s music video dancing. I found this massive 70s/80s playlist on YouTube last week and I just let it play in the background while I worked. When “Dancing in the Dark” by Bruce Springsteen started playing, I immediately clicked over to watch because of the Courtney Cox part (skip ahead to about 3:20: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=129kuDCQtHs). It’s so cheesy and awesome and it reminds me of being a kid and the fact we all danced unselfconsciously like that.

I want to hang onto that feeling as I continue to spit out my rewrite (my MC is more than a little impulsive) and also while I try to think up a dare for this month’s YA Buccaneer’s Truth and Dare Challenge.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

27 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Coconut: one of my favorite foods but I don’t know that I’ve ever tried to tackle preparing it myself. Kudos to you! The last time I used my food processor I mistakenly thought you could add liquid to it–not realizing that it isn’t water-tight like a blender. Um, oops. Poblano sauce: all over my kitchen.
    Congrats on the Jules progress!

  2. Congrats on your progress on Jules!! That is fantastic!

    And your descriptions of dealing with the computer trojan and burning coconut made me laugh out loud.

    And I still dance around my house like a total maniac. I didn’t know we were supposed to stop. My neighbors probably hate my playlists and the fact that our house has a LOT of glass up front. 🙂

    Now I’m also very curious what was in your stacks of 80’s & 90’s cassettes. I still have some of mine and there are some super embarrassing titles in there.

    • Since I still own many of those tapes, I just may post a pic next week! Alas, I no longer own any NKOTB and I *may* have given away my MC Hammer, but I’m pretty sure I still have Paula Abdul!

  3. I NEED to read Eleanor and Park. I know. I am a horrible procrastinator about books I know I should read and for some reason am anxious to start. I think it’s all the people who say they sobbed at the end that makes me pause.

    Your coconut story is hilarious.

  4. 20,000 chopped words? OUCH! That would be like slicing off my own arm. How do you do it?

    • The first time I chopped that many words, it was awful, but I’ve rewritten so many times, that now I’m kinda resigned to the fact the words have to go. Plus I paste them in a new document, so they’re technically not really gone 🙂

  5. Yay for progress on JULES! I plan on writing tonight if you want to do a Twitter meet-up. I’m so happy that your reading ELEANOR AND PARK. I love that story so much… It was pretty darn close to perfect for me. I can’t wait to read FANGIRL!

  6. Oh my gosh! Dancing to 80s music. I’ve so been there. (I have vague recollections of busting a serious move to “Pop Goes the World” by Men Without Hats and “Kokomo” by the Beach Boys lol. Big weirdo.) This post is reminding me that I still need to read ELEANOR AND PARK. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. You’re making awesome progress on JULES. Good for you! Cutting words can suck, but not when it brings coherence. 🙂

    • I remember when Kokomo came out – everyone was singing it! I actually did a dance routine to NKOTB for an elementary school talent show. *cringes*

      • speaking as a viewer of your elementary school talent show… you and your friends were great! Of course, as your mother I am a little prejudiced…

  7. 20k is a lot to chop! Go you!

    Your coconut story sounds like the one time I tried to prepare pineapple and chicken (separately), left the room for five minutes, and came back to the stove on fire. My friends STILL won’t let me live that one down.

    • Don’t feel bad, I set something on fire the other day while IN the kitchen. It was something that fell on the burner, so the food was saved, but I had a nasty mess of burnt baking soda to clean up later – yuck!

  8. I didn’t get to see the meteor shower either.

    Yay for writing lots.

    I loved Eleanor and Park.

  9. I just started Eleanor and Park this morning. Now I’m more excited to read it.

  10. Ah, I loooved Eleanor and Park! So happy you feel you’re in a good place with your manuscript and rewrite. Best of luck with it. Love your coconut story. : )

  11. Love the reminder of the Springsteen video. Courtney Cox was a Birmingham, AL girl and for us southern AL girls she was an MTV in-the-flesh icon of getting the hell out of dodge!

    And hysterical about the coconut.
    Good luck on the WIP progress!

  12. I saw the meteor shower at the star party at Sky Meadows VA. It was awesome!

  13. I’m glad you enjoyed ELEANOR & PARK. too. The characters in it and their problems felt so real to me.

    Mmm, I love coconut. My husband and I have consumed more than a couple Bounty bars this past week. We used our dehydrator to dry coconut once and that seemed to work well. Sorry to hear your toasting process didn’t go very smoothly. Kind of funny that all said and done your hubby doesn’t even like coconut.

    Sounds like you’ve been doing some serious story trimming! That’s awesome that you’re happy with the results!

Leave a Reply

