Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

29 Comments

Whats Up WedWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

I finished Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

I really enjoyed the first half of the book. Some of the moments were even more hilarious told indirectly (through emails, notes, etc.) because there was a lot of subtle, between-the-lines humor. The second half had its moments, but it lacked the same spark. It was mostly narrative from Bernadette’s daughter, who seemed likeable enough, but her personality felt a little flat compared to the other characters. There were also a lot of scenes with Bernadette’s husband and I pretty much thought he sucked. Most of the characters were unlikeable to a certain degree, but I assumed they were supposed to be. The end felt a little too quick/convenient.

I also read When it Happens to You by Molly Ringwald. Yes, THAT Molly Ringwald. She wrote a book and it’s good! It’s a collection of interconnecting short stories, some of them so unflinching that it felt like I was trespassing on these people’s lives. The only story that really gave me pause was “Mea Culpa,” because I had trouble following the timeline of events. Everything else seemed to be linear and this one suddenly went back in time. But even with that confusion, the emotions were as strong as ever.

WHAT I’M WRITING

ready set write buttonLast week I wanted to write the “major event” scenes and I’ve got the skeletons down for that – I just need to fill them in a little more before I move on. I’m on page 37 and since I write about a page or two a day, I’m aiming to get to 50 by next Wednesday.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

I had to collect a urine sample from my cat last Friday. Before a week and a half ago, I didn’t even know this was a thing. I’ll spare you the icky details, but it did not involve following him around with a cup, as I’d imagined.

Good news is that he’s doing much, much better – he goes back to the vet next week for a follow-up and will hopefully get a clean bill of health.

In other news, the freaking engine light is on in my car. AGAIN. WTF? Seriously. It seems to be running fine, but I’m pretty annoyed considering all the money I’ve dumped into it and the several mechanics I’ve taken it to. Does my car need an exorcism or something? Is it going to go all Linda Blair on me?

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

The weekend. I’m having a crazy, busy week and I can’t wait to spend at least part of the weekend relaxing.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

29 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I picked up that Molly Ringwald book, too! It was on sale, and I was really curious about her writing.
    Sorry about the cat urine sample experience–although the imagine of following a cat around with a cup is cracking me up.

  2. Sounds like you need Click and Clack, the Tapit brothers!

  3. I’m sure you’ll be at page 50 before you know. Hope your cat continues to do well. I hate car stuff, it always makes me feel so helpless when my car has problems because I know nothing about them.

  4. All Linda Blair on you? OMG I can’t stop laughing, I’m so sorry, Jennifer! I had a girlfriend in high school who took a permanent black marker to the space on her dash were the engine light would turn on – she literally blacked out over the glass, so she wouldn’t see it. Like that would make it go away. I am starting to have flash backs…don’t do it, my friend.

    On a happier note, I’m very glad to see your kitty is doing better and I hope all of his tests come back with flying colors next week!

    Great job on your writing goals – one page at a time, I like it! Best of luck with your goals for this week, too!

  5. It seems like everyone’s reading BERNADETTE these days. It’s definitely one that intrigues me. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it. Way to go with your writing goals… Sounds like you’re making steady progress. And I’m glad to hear that your kitty is feeling better. It’s so hard when pets are sick — if only they could tell us what’s wrong!

  6. Ug. Cars. We had a car where the engine light just kept coming on even though it wasn’t heating up and nothing “seemed” wrong. We just ignored it. I’m not suggesting this is a good option, though. That car died. But, ug, so sorry you’re still dealing with this hell car.
    Molly Ringwald! I had no idea. I will have to check it out. Happy writing week!

  7. Good luck hitting page 50!

    Oh cars, they are a black hole for money. I have a 13 year old Toyota that, to my undying gratitude, has been problem free for a couple of years, but between 2009/10, it continuously ate my back account. Hope you can get yours sorted out!

    • Up until a few months ago, my car hadn’t given me many problems. But I’ve had it for six years and my last car died around the six year ownership mark. Guess that’s about the life expectancy with me and cars :/

  8. You know, black electrical tape is great for making that engine light go away. *wink*
    Seriously, though, I know what you mean. That pesky engine light is the #1 reason my car has been in the shop this past year. The most discouraging thing is to have the light come on again while driving back from the auto shop… 😦
    I love writing the major scenes…such a good way to rebuild motivation. Good luck on meeting your goals this week!

    • Hah, yeah, that happened with mine, too. My husband picked it up and wasn’t even halfway home when the light popped on. Then we got it *fixed* and it stayed off for over a week. Progress!

  9. I have Ringwald’s book. I wish I could move it higher up my TBR pile since I love her.

    My engine light is always on because my car was in a flood years ago and several lights went haywire permanently.

    I know about that skeleton and find it a joy filling it in.

  10. Glad to hear your cat seems to be doing better! I hope he gets that clean bill of health from the vet and that your car can get one soon too. Sounds like you’re making great progress on you WIP. Good luck making it to page 50 this week! I’m sure you’ll do awesome!

  11. I’m so glad your cat is getting better! But wow – the things we do for our pets. I once bought several prescriptions of Prozac for my dog once (she had separation anxiety and biting her nails was a gross understatement), but I’d do it again in a heartbeat. I will continue to send positive vibes your way! And yay for writing goals! I hope you have a super productive week!

    • I know, I never thought I’d be so excited to see my cat pee, but when he did, it was this big ordeal – I was texting my husband and my mom and then rushing the sample to the vet’s office. Gotta love our furry little friends!

  12. Glad to hear your cat is feeling better! (Though I don’t envy you the urine collection…) And congrats on steadily making your way through your book!

  13. I’m glad your cat is feeling better! Congrats on writing the “major” event scenes. Good luck with your goals for this week! Have a great weekend!

  14. Hope the cat’s check-up goes well next week. Good luck getting to page 50 by Wednesday.

  15. Sounds like you got some serious writing done this week. I think getting the skeleton of a big scene down is huge. That’s the toughest part, in my opinion. Good luck with your writing goals this week!

    P. S. I hope the car keeps working. That’s such a pain!

Leave a Reply

