Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

26 Comments

Whats Up WedWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple (description from Goodreads)

Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she’s a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow private-school mothers in Seattle, she’s a disgrace; to design mavens, she’s a revolutionary architect, and to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, simply, Mom.

Then Bernadette disappears. It began when Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette’s intensifying allergy to Seattle—and people in general—has made her so agoraphobic that a virtual assistant in India now runs her most basic errands. A trip to the end of the earth is problematic.

To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, secret correspondence—creating a compulsively readable and touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter’s role in an absurd world.

It’s a Big People book! I’m enjoying the format of emails/notes to tell the story.

Before that, it was Golden by Jessi Kirby, which I L-O-V-E-D, I think maybe even a little more than her book Moonglass. It had that verge-of-adulthood-trying-to-find-yourself theme, like in Wanderlove and Just One Day; fans of those books will probably also enjoy Golden.

I mentioned Pretty Girl-13 by Liz Coley last week and I had mixed (and lengthy) thoughts on this book, so I’ll put up my review in a separate post, either tomorrow or Friday.

WHAT I’M WRITING

ready set write buttonI’ve been dawdling over the same few paragraphs for over a week now, so this week I want to step it up. There are important scenes coming up – the whole “major event” that fuels the rest of the story and I want to get those down on paper (or screen, as the case may be).

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Driving my car 🙂

Taking my cat to the vet because he hasn’t seemed like himself lately 😦 I’m waiting on a call from the vet to hear about some blood test results.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

More family wanderlove – another cousin, on the other side of the family even, is taking a return trip to Costa Rica and she always posts the most gorgeous travel photos. Nothing wrong with taking a break in the middle of the workday to look at pretty things.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

26 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I’ve been meaning to read BERNADETTE, so I’m excited to hear what you think.
    Hope your cat is a-okay!

  2. I have that book on my wish list.

    I hope your cat is fine. I’m sorry he hasn’t been himself.

  3. I hope your cat’s doing better! Also, I just picked up IN HONOR from a used book store. I loved MOONGLASS so I’m VERY excited to read this one. Best wishes on your writing!

  4. GOLDEN sounds good! And the fact that you compare it to WANDERLOVE–sold! I have a hold request on it at the library so hopefully it shows up soon. 🙂 Good luck with meeting your writing goals this week, Jennifer. You can do it!

    I hope your kitty is doing all right.

  5. I had mixed and lengthy thoughts on PRETTY GIRL-13 as well. It was a really tough story to review. But, just like you, I absolutely adored GOLDEN. Such a beautiful, beautiful book!

    I’m thinking happy, positive thoughts for your kitty. It’s so tough when pets are sick. If only they could tell us what their troubles are. 😦

  6. I really hope everything is okay with your kitty. Sending you happy thoughts – I know what this is like and I hope that all is well.

    BERNADETTE is on my TBR list – after all, it takes place here in my home town! I’ve heard such great things about it and can’t wait to hear what you think after you’ve turned the last page.

    Best of luck in hitting your writing goals this week – it’s always exciting getting to those oh, so important scenes! Keep it up – you’re writing way more than I am right now! 🙂

    Happy Wednesday, Jennifer – and have fun driving your car around town!

  7. Oooh, writing a big event sounds like fun. Enjoy it!

    Every day should include time for looking at beautiful things 😀

  8. I really want to read Where’d You Go, Bernadette but it’s always checked out at the library.

    Sending good thoughts about your cat. I hope everything is okay.

    Good luck writing the “major event” in your story!

  9. I loved Moonglass. Now I really need to read Golden!

  10. All your book suggestions/reads sound super interesting! Good taste it looks like. Glad you’re moving on from those paragraphs. You can always go back and rework them, that is the great thing about revision.

  11. Sorry to hear your cat isn’t himself right now. I hope the news from the vet is good and that he’ll feel better soon. Best of luck with these important scenes you’ll be tackling! 🙂

  12. I hope your kitty feels better soon. Good luck with your writing goals this week. I love writing those all-important scenes. Half the time I learn stuff I didn’t know going into it.

  13. Ohhhhh important scenes sound like fun! 😀 Hope your kitty is going well…we need to get ours to the vet for his check-up very soon!
    I have GOLDEN on my TBR and on my Kindle and I think I really need to move it up the list 😀
    Hope you´re having a great week!

Leave a Reply

