Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

21 Comments

Whats Up WedWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

Pretty Girl-13I just finished up this disturbing, bizarre-o book called The Beat Generation, by Albert Zugsmith, which I found a few years ago while helping my dad clean out some old boxes. The date on the cover is 1965 and the book cost 25 cents. It’s so beat up that the pages were practically disintegrating as I turned them. Apparently the book is based on a movie. I think I’ll pass.

Next up is:

Pretty Girl-13 by Liz Coley

WHAT I’M WRITING

ready set write buttonI write in slow motion, so it’s sorta pointless for me to aim at finishing an entire first draft by the end of the summer (I’m thinking it’ll be closer to Christmas), but I want to write a big chunk of it over the next few months.

I’m terrible at titles, otherwise I would share one. Right now I call it “Shannon,” after my main character.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

My car is fixed.

I want to run around, shouting about it, but I’m afraid I’ll jinx myself, so I’ll say quietly:

yay.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

One of my cousins just graduated college and he’s leaving soon to go teach English in China for a year. He’s an adventurous sort – he spent several semesters abroad in various countries and this is his latest endeavor.

I’m a homebody and quite happy to be that way, but I admire people like my cousin who boldly venture out into the world.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

21 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Hooray to the car being fixed! I, too, write in slow motion. And read in slow motion. I need 5 more hours in the day–then I think I’d be on the right track.

  2. So happy your car is fixed! (yay) And I think your writing goal is a good one. Simply putting it out there that you want to make some good progress on it this summer means that you’re that much more likely to accomplish that goal. Go you! 🙂

  3. I write in slow motion too : ) But I hope you get as much as you can get done this summer. Yay for your fixed car! And I love your cousin’s adventure. It’s inspiring to watch others follow their hearts (wow did that sound cheesy;)

  4. Ohhh, I’ve heard great things about PRETTY GIRL 13! I’m looking forward to hearing what you think!

    And a quiet yay! that your car is fixed! Car issues are just gross and I firmly believe if you pay that much money for something it should last for AT LEAST 250,000 miles. Fingers crossed for you!

    Your cousin heading off to China sounds like a wonderful experience for him – I have the travel adventure bug, too, and while I’ve had the good fortune of traveling to some of the places I’ve always wanted (Peru and Machu Picchu, Guatemala, Okinawa, Italy), there are always still more I need to make it to in this life time! Best of luck to him with his adventures in China!

    And best of luck to you in writing SHANNON – it doesn’t matter how long it takes you to get there, in the end, you still do!

  5. Sending a subdued but heartfelt on the car. I want to shout, though, because my own car woes made me feel very sympathetic toward yours. :0) So glad you’re doing R.S.W! Looking forward to following your progress all summer.

  6. Yay for your car! I hate being without one. And titles – usually they jump out at me. This particular WiP I’m working on – not so much. Maybe I’ll call mine Axle. Or Alexandra. Hmmm.

    And so glad you’ve joined us for RSW!!! I hope you have a wonderful week of writing!

  7. Yay for your car being fixed 🙂 I’m looking forward to your thoughts on Pretty Girl – 13…I have it on my TBR…
    So glad you’re joining us for RSW and looking forward to cheering you on as you write those words!

  8. I had two books that were from the 50s and 60s that disintegrated. I threw them out, but I wished I had kept them since they were some of my favorites from my teen years. I hope someone comes out with the ebooks since there are publishers who are reprinting older books.

    Yay about the car!

  9. Hooray for your car finally being fixed. A first draft by Christmas sounds doable. Maybe I’ll shoot for it, too.

  10. Glad you got your car fixed! (whispers Yay)

Leave a Reply

