Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

18 Comments

Whats Up WedWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READING

It’s SummySeries, time to catch up on book series, although this year I’m not sure yet which ones I’m going to read because I’m too excited/distracted – for the first time ever, my library is having an Adult Summer Reading Program!!!

Which means I plan to read some Big People Books* in the next few months!

*Years ago, I worked with a girl who was going to community college and she’d always jokingly refer to 4-year universities as “Big People School” or “Big People College.”

WHAT I’M WRITING

Ready. Set. Write! ready set write button

A summer writing intensive hosted by the two lovely ladies responsible for What’s Up Wednesday, plus Alison Miller, Katy Upperman, and Elodie Nowodazkij

Here are my goals:

Finish the alt ending I’ve been working on for my WIP that’s off at beta camp + get some work done on my new WIP.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Still waiting on my car. It’s universally accepted that it’s broken, yet no one can figure out exactly why. If I only had to drive a mile or so at a time, I’d be in business, but seeing as it stops working after short distances…

Blah.

On a positive note, I am lucky enough to have a Saturday Farmer’s Market just a few blocks away, so I’m going to browse this weekend.

Also, the weather has been fantastic this week – I like avoiding the hellish inferno that is summer for as long as possible.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

ENDURANCE – Look, I’ve found my word for the year! (five months late)

I’ve never had great physical endurance, even as a kid. I could sprint like a champ, but when faced with a long race or a running game (like soccer), I was the one constantly calling, “time out!” so I could collapse on the ground.

Hmm…maybe my car lacks endurance and that’s the major issue?

Anyway, I’ve been doing a lot of athletic conditioning type workouts lately, hoping to improve since I want to shave my mile time. The fastest I’ve ever run a mile is nine minutes and that makes me sad because I was nine when I did it and I’ve never been able to top my kid self. Hopefully I can later this summer when I get back on the treadmill.

So there’s that, but there’s also everyday endurance, the kind that gets you through the little annoyances of life, like a broken car or a laptop that won’t start (thankfully it finally did) or a sinkful of dirty dishes which I swear I just washed five minutes ago.

Like Rocky Balboa would say: Ain’t nobody gonna hit as hard as life.

But I like getting up each morning and kicking it back 🙂

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

18 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I started reading Big People Books lately too, but it’s because I joined a Book Club. I think they might scoff at my usual choice in books, so I’m not sure I want to test that just yet. That sucks about your car, Jennifer. Boo. I hope they figure out what it is soon. I could use a little more endurance in my life as well. In so many things I’ve found it too easy to just give up. Surprisingly, writing isn’t one of those things. 🙂

  2. Have fun with the Big People Books! I’m catching up on a few this summer, too.
    Endurance is such a good word–I think it’s one I need to borrow lately. 🙂

  3. I just finished a “big people book,” THE AGE OF MIRACLES, which I thought was excellent. It’s nice to take a tiny break from YA every once in awhile. And I’m so glad you’re joining us for Ready. Set. Write! It’s going to be a fantastic summer!

  4. I’ve been reading quite a bit of “big people books” lately because that’s what’s been in my list and in my stacks and at my library, and I’m missing YA : ) I love the idea of endurance. I’ve always been a sprinter too. The sprinting idea probably creeps its way into other aspects of my life too. Good luck with your car : )

  5. I agree with the other posters, Big People Books are great. I like to mix it up because I appreciate different things about different kinds of books. Hooray for endurance and boo on your car problems. No. fun. Needing a car and not having one can be very stressful. Here’s hoping you and your car find your endurance soon. :0)

  6. I sometimes read big people books. It used to be all I read and now it’s a nice break from YA and MG.

    I’d like to become more fit this summer.

  7. I’ll have to check out Ready, Set, Write. Thanks for passing it on.

  8. Reading this made me feel like “Endurance” should be my word this year too.
    Happy writing and I wish you plenty of words this summer. 🙂

  9. Sorry to hear about your car. That is frustrating. And Endurance sounds like a great word to go on.
    It’s always great to finally have a MS at beta stage. Congrats! And enjoy working on your new WIP.

Leave a Reply

