Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

What’s Up Wednesday

16 Comments

Whats Up WedWhat’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk that allows us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up.

WHAT I’M READINGMiss Pickerell on the Trail

When you’re at a library book sale and there’s a book with a variant spelling of your last name, you freaking buy that sucker! I read another one of the Miss Pickerell books years ago, after someone told me they existed and I was like WHAT??? They’re all similar – science lessony and a grand adventure. This one is copyright 1982, but it feels old fashioned, like 1950s-ish.

Side note:  I’m down to 43 books on my shelf and up slightly to 911 on my list. I broke even this month.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I sent my WIP off to beta camp for the summer and started on a SNI. BUT the ending for my other MS kept bugging me with its offness, so I decided to write an alt ending and that’s what I’m currently working on.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Nagging my husband (as I have been for years) to quit smoking.

Staring into the storefront of the “coming soon” chocolate store a few blocks from my house and expecting confections to magically appear.

Realizing I have no idea how to buy a new pair of shoes because I honestly can’t remember the last time I did. I need cross trainers because my old ones (which I got free from someone) are starting to lose their supportiveness.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

The idea that mine and hubs’ car might actually be fixed soon. It broke about three months ago and even after an engine replacement, it’s still not right. It’s at Mechanic #2 currently and I hope to hear something today. Living in rural-land means limited public transportation and lots of walking and ride bumming. I want to zip down the road with the windows down and the radio blasting, damnit!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

16 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. “Staring into the storefront of the “coming soon” chocolate store a few blocks from my house and expecting confections to magically appear.” I wish a chocolate store would open by me!

  2. I don’t know how to buy shoes either and I need to purchase news ones seasonally because I walk miles each day in NYC. (sigh) Best of luck with your writing. I love that you have a whole series of books about you! Well, the you with an extra e.

  3. A chocolate store coming soon? Yum! I think I’d have my face smushed against the glass on a daily basis before and after that thing opened. That book sounds totally fun. The 1950s feel you mention especially appeals to me. 🙂

    • The other day, I walked by and looked in and then walked back by 20 minutes later and did the same thing. It’s sorta like opening the refrigerator a bunch of times and hoping something is different 🙂

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever seen my last name in a title of anything. Lucky! 🙂

    Beta Camp is in session today! I’m super busy typing hearts whenever I see Uncle Scott’s name. lol

  5. Cars are the bane of my existence. We always seem to be helping a car limp along through a slow and painful death. No fun, especially in this country– where the public transport is often limited. Your alt ending rewrite sounds so fun and exciting. Hope it goes well!

    • This particular car hadn’t given us many problems over the years, but then everything started breaking, of course when we only have a few payments left on it. So it’s pretty much, yay, we own it! Oh, but now it sucks.

  6. Oh, car problems are the worse. I can sympathize. Enjoy the chocolate store! Hopefully, they’ll give out some freebees when they open.

  7. I dread car problems. I feel so helpless when they occur, especially since I don’t know the parts and how they work.

    The chocolate store sounds amazing. I also am intrigued by anything that has a variation of my name.

    • I wish the author was still alive – I’d write and ask her how she came up with the name since it’s not the most common – I have family in the area she lived and I wonder if she knew them?

  8. A chocolate store? Near your house? Heaven! I just had an ice cream shop open. It is the CLOSEST food to me at only 12 minutes by car.

Leave a Reply

