Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

May Reading List – Dinner and a Movie

7 Comments

I am continually putting off movies when I haven’t read the book first. Unless it’s a movie I didn’t know was based on a book until years later, like Mermaids or Drugstore Cowboy. Or a bunch of others, but I digress.

One that’s been on my shelf for years is The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

Time Travelers Wife cover(description from Goodreads)

A dazzling novel in the most untraditional fashion, this is the remarkable story of Henry DeTamble, a dashing, adventuresome librarian who travels involuntarily through time, and Clare Abshire, an artist whose life takes a natural sequential course. Henry and Clare’s passionate love affair endures across a sea of time and captures the two lovers in an impossibly romantic trap, and it is Audrey Niffenegger’s cinematic storytelling that makes the novel’s unconventional chronology so vibrantly triumphant.

The author came to my library years ago, but it was for some fundraiser dinner thing that cost way more than I could afford, so I didn’t get to meet her. I’ll settle for reading her book, watching the movie adaptation and eating some time-traveling worthy food, whatever that may be. For some reason, I keep picturing astronaut ice cream.

250px-Freeze-Dried-Ice-Cream(source)

I remember eating it once during elementary school and thinking it was Ah-May-Zing. But I was like seven, so…

Who knows?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

7 thoughts on “May Reading List – Dinner and a Movie

  1. I have this one sitting on my shelf too and I haven’t read it yet either. I have seen the movie, though, which I should probably feel guilty about. This is one of those situations where the movie actually made me want to read the book. That doesn’t happen often. Maybe I’ll finally get to it soon. 🙂

  2. I’d love to try astronaut ice cream.

    I believe I have the ebook of that.

  3. I had this one sitting on my shelf for too long and ended up giving it away. Reading this post makes me regret that choice. Enjoy!

  4. Great book. You’ll love it!

  5. I just read this in the last few months and I truly enjoyed it. It’s so smartly written and her logic is airtight, which is key for a time-travel book.

Leave a Reply

