Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Recharge – Day 1

10 Comments

recharge2

ICEBREAKER:

What is your name?

Jennifer

What do you write?

Mostly YA contemporary, although I have a few put-aside WIPs that would probably be considered New Adult.

How long have you been writing?

For as long as I can remember. My 2nd grade teacher assigned us journal-writing exercises and I just sorta took off from there.

What location have you chosen for your retreat?

A cabin in the mountains, when it’s still slightly chilly. I’m wrapped in a blanket while sitting on the porch in a big comfy chair, enjoying the silence and fresh air. My cat is off on a nature adventure and not clawing at my arm or strutting across my keyboard.

How did you come up with the idea or find inspiration for your current WIP?

I wrote the very first draft when I was in high school and I honestly have no idea what inspired me. Although I do actually remember what prompted me to name the MC’s brother – I was watching a soap opera and a character named ‘Alan’ walked on-screen. I said, “That works!” Thus, Alan Geary came to be.

EXERCISE #3:

Open a random book to a random page. What are the first words that jump out at you?

“When Moridin reached the inn, the street was empty save for the dogs.”

That’s from my husband’s book A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan/Brandon Sanderson, p. 25. It’s about the millionth book in the Wheel of Time series. I’ve only made it through the first one and that took me a month. The line I found sounds totally creepy and foreboding.

There are more writing prompts and exercises at Sara Biren’s blog, so come join the fun!

 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

10 thoughts on “Recharge – Day 1

  1. Hi Jennifer so nice to see you again 😉 I’m hopping over from Sara’s page… I also write YA contemp! *high fives* LOL on your cat strutting across your keyboard….too funny!

  2. Yes, to the cabin in the woods!

  3. I’d love to be working in a chilly mountain cabin right now! With lots of cocoa or tea.

  4. So glad I popped over. One, I loved your answers. Two, I love the idea of this retreat. I’ll be checking out the other prompts. Love the story about watching a soap opera and POOR, Alan! Great reminder that inspiration can be lurking around ANY corner!

  5. “I was watching a soap opera and a character named ‘Alan’ walked on-screen. I said, “That works!” Thus, Alan Geary came to be.” Really??? You sound so decisive.

    So then, I think I spend way too much time naming my characters. For one, I chose what I wanted him to look like, found the model’s ethnic background (Welsh), and then I spent at least a couple hours determining a good Welsh surname and a name that was more Americanized but might’ve appealed to Welsh parents. God. I waste a lot of time, lol.

    • Lol, I’m only decisive with about half my characters’ names – I do the same thing as you do with others. And if the name doesn’t feel *right* to me, I can’t just write on and change it later; it’s like I get instant writers block.

  6. Love the idea of your mountain retreat! You know those New Adult mss you have stashed away? You might want to dust those off and strike while the NA iron is hot!

    Thanks for joining in!

Leave a Reply

