Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Five – spring* is in the air!

15 Comments

*Or it will eventually be in the air. Damnit, it’s cold!

1. Alice in Wonderland

I loved being a part of drama club when I was in high school and I’m glad my younger bro has taken up the cause. I just watched him and his castmates perform Alice in Wonderland and they are so fabulous, I can’t even put it into words.

2. Free Online Courses

MIT (yes, the MIT) offers a bunch of their past courses online for free. They’re non-credit and you’re grading yourself, but I want to complete a few because I am a nerd and because I randomly have “take a heinous hard math class for no reason at all” on my bucket list. No clue why.

For my writer friends, here are links to the list of lit and writing classes – there’s so much variety, I wouldn’t even know where I wanted to start.

3. Recharge: Winter Writing Retreat

I’m not the only one who’s noticed it’s rather chilly outside. Sara Biren came up with a fun idea to beat the winter blues. Join her next week for some writing prompts/exercises.

recharge2

4. March Madness!

Denise Jaden has been hosting this for years and it’s always a blast. My goal this time around is to finish a first draft of my current WIP by the end of the month.

MarchMadness 2013

5. YA Book Club

It’s finally back!!! Go check out this post on Tracey Neithercott’s blog to nominate books for March.

Book Club Button

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

15 thoughts on “Friday Five – spring* is in the air!

  1. The MIT classes are so cool! Thanks for sharing the link

  2. I might have to hop in on the March Madness. Have some projects I really need to get grounded and pounded out 🙂

  3. Thanks for including Recharge in your Friday Five! 🙂

  4. Great list! I’m going to check out the online classes for when I finish mine. March Madness looks fun, too.

  5. Awesome, I’m so signing up for one of those lit classes. I miss learning things!

  6. There is so much awesome in this post, I’m not sure what to comment on first, so I’ll do it by number:
    1) This sounds fantastic! Hubby and I went to a local production of Dracula recently and it was great. 2) I’m totally checking out those links for MIT. Thanks for mentioning them! 3) Looking forward to Sara’s writing retreat. It’s exactly the motivation I need at this point in this crummy ole winter. 4) I was just thinking today that I’d like to finish a first draft of my WIP by the end of March. I might have to consider taking part in something like this for the accountability. 5) I’m super pumped that the YA Book Club is starting up again. It’s been way too long! 🙂

  7. Great links! I am in desperate need of Sara’s virtual retreat so I’m in. I’ll have to check out the March Madness. Have a great weekend!

  8. I’ll check out some of these links.

    I like the sound of the online classes. Maybe I can explore that during the summer.

Leave a Reply

