Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Lovefest!

11 Comments

This week’s topic is: It’s (the day before) Valentine’s Day! Let’s jumpstart the lovefest by blogging about what you love most about writing (and/or reading)!

I love all the great memories I associate with reading and writing.

-Being a kid and my mom taking my older brother and me to the local library. I know I’ve mentioned it once (or a dozen) times on the blog that bro and I would check out every single copy of Three by the Sea, just because we could.

-My elementary school librarian reading to us in the library “pit.” I can still picture the ugly green carpet.

-Getting permission in high school to complete a special senior year project of writing a novel because my creative writing teacher was the most awesome, supportive woman ever. She even had several bound copies made for me.

-My creative writing classes at community college, which were the first times I shared my work with people not my age. My classmates included a pastor and a retired farmer. Or at least in my frozen teenage memory, he will forever remain a farmer who wrote such a great character observation that it still sticks in my mind.

-Swapping books with my family. I’m helping my dad clean up his enormous collection of books this spring and I can only imagine how many I’ll end up with before all is said and done. Some he’ll insist I read, but others I’ll take because I won’t be able to help myself.

-Seeing a whole new generation fall in love with reading. One of my friends told me her one-year-old has started bringing books to her and her husband to read to him.

-Which reminds me of my older brother “reading” to me when we were kids. He’d start off out loud, then trail off after about a page and continue on silently. So it’s more like he’d read and I’d sit there beside him, waiting for the story to start up again.

-Finally, cats and YA.

The Cat Recession

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

11 thoughts on “RTW – Lovefest!

  1. I love this notion of connecting a love of reading to memories associated with reading. I can completely relate. I remember being read to as a child, buying boxes of books from the library, the smell of the pages… So much of it is connected to happy memories. Great take on this! 🙂

  2. I love all of these memories of reading! My favorite thing to do as a kid was walk up to our local library branch for storytime. I still visit that library when I go home to see my parents.

  3. Love this, Jennifer. We have a lot of similar reading memories… I recall going to the library with my mom and siblings as a kid too, and the school library reading pit! We totally had one!

  4. Love your reading memories! I remember walking to the library–it was a LONG walk for us. More than an hour each way, but my mom took us there pretty frequently on weekends. Pretty sure it was because we were broke and the library card was free, but it makes for some fond memories.

  5. I love seeing a new generation of readers too : ) I’m very curious about the farmer’s character observation… hmmm…

  6. What great memories! I have several good ones about libraries, too. I hope they never disappear.

Leave a Reply

