Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

February Reading List – Blind Date!

6 Comments

I waver on my thoughts about surprises. The scenario of walking into a dark room, the lights suddenly blazing on, and people screaming, “Happy birthday!!!” is not my idea of fun.

But, on a smaller scale, I’m all for the unexpected:

  • Seeing the first buttercups or violets of the year, hidden away in a far corner of the yard
  • My older brother sending me a text with a picture of something he spotted in the store that’s part of an old inside joke (this just happened)
  • Coming home from doing laundry and my husband has done the dishes (I’m still waiting for this to happen)

And, of course, picking up a book on a whim because I liked the cover and/or title and ending up loving it.

Which brings me (finally) to my theme for February. Last year I used a random number generator to pick four titles from my TBR-list. This year, I’m going with my gut. And with my TBR-shelf, because there had to have been a reason everything there initially caught my attention. Which means, I have no idea yet what I’m reading.

I figure I’ll know it when I see it.

So how about you all – what’s the last book you picked up on a whim and loved?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

6 thoughts on “February Reading List – Blind Date!

  1. I picked up SWAY and 11/22/63 and I really liked both! (I think you would, too)
    I’m with you on surprises–finding flowers yay, surprise parties nay.

  2. The last book I chose because of the cover, with absolutely no prior knowledge, was CHARLOTTE STREET by Danny Wallace. It turned out well! Good luck with your surprise picks–I hope they wow you 🙂

  3. The Life of Pi was good. As was the movie.

Leave a Reply

