Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

A Contest + Four Other Friday Things

4 Comments

1. A Contest

Writer’s Digest is having another one of their “Dear Lucky Agent” contests, this time for YA of any kind. It’s super easy to enter. Click the URL below for more details.

http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/13th-free-dear-lucky-agent-contest-young-adult-and-sci-fi

2. A dumpster

Last Friday, the dumpster in my apartment parking lot was inexplicably hauled away. The landlord was vague on when we’d get another one. My trash kept piling up and finally it couldn’t wait any longer. Under the cover of darkness, I made my husband put it in someone’s outdoor trash can. Yes, it was super shady. BUT, there is now a replacement dumpster and I am celebrating a trash receptacle for the first (and probably) last time in my life.

3. Reading
I’m in the middle of For Darkness Shows the Stars and it rocks! I’ll write more about it once I finish.

4. Cleaning
So you know when you get really busy and you kinda forget about domestic crap and you end up having to order pizza because you have no clean dishes? That happened last night. But I cleaned this morning and all is well. I love that freshly tidied feeling. If only I could figure out a way for stuff to remain permanently clean.

5. Writing

I know it’s only a few weeks into my experiment, but I really think I’ve found a happy writing medium. My first habit was writing in manic spurts, which worked when I was a teenager and could live happily off of Combos and Dr. Pepper, but as an adult, the lack of sleep made me feel cranky and off-balanced. So I went the opposite and only wrote once a week. That also made me irritable. But writing for a short time every day works. It’s part of my schedule so nothing else (like my day job) is interrupted and I can keep up my groove without getting burnt out.

How is everyone else doing today?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

4 thoughts on “A Contest + Four Other Friday Things

  1. That’s funny about the pizza. It sounds like something that would happen here. If you figure out how to get stuff to stay permanently clean let me know. Have a good weekend!

  2. When I was young I could skip sleep to write. I find that I can’t do that anymore. I need my sleep.

    I’ll add For Darkness Shows the Stars to my wish list. From your other blog posts I’ve enjoyed your taste in books.

Leave a Reply

