Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Book Hoarders Anonymous

12 Comments

fireworksSix books gone from my TBR-shelf!

Ignore the fact I just removed ones I knew I’d never read so I could donate them to my local library for their next book sale. The bottom line is that they are gone from my shelf! It’s a big step for me because whenever I buy a tattered paperback on a whim or someone hands me a box of used novels, I feel this ridiculous sense of duty to read them. One day. Or never, as the case may be.

It’s really strange that I have this habit because I’m not that way about most other things. I do major cleaning purges once or twice a year, giving away clothes or whatever else I don’t need and I don’t think twice about it. But with books, it’s different. At least while they’re unread. I keep a surprisingly small amount of read books.

Does anyone else have this problem? I’m trying to get better and I’m sure my husband will appreciate my efforts the next time we move and he has a few less boxes to haul.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

12 thoughts on “Book Hoarders Anonymous

  1. YES, I have this problem. I keep a small amount of ‘read’ books too. But, if I buy a book I feel obligated to read it. Even if I spent $1. Even I started it, hated it, I keep it, thinking someday I will read it. Because I HAVE to.

  2. I do this, too! I think it’s the potential that I hang on for–there’s usually a reason that I bought the book and somewhere deep inside I think I will be missing out if I get rid of it. Thus, massively overcrowded bookshelves! 🙂

  3. YES I have this problem. I am kind of a compulsive reader, I guess. If a book makes it onto my shelf, I have a very hard time not feeling like I have to read it. Good for you for cleaning off your shelf and making some room for books you really really really want to read.
    I also have a problem with having to finish every book I start.

  4. I am a major book hoarder. I keep just about every single book I buy. O_o Believe me, my husband is not thrilled about this either.

  5. YES! I have a bunch of books that I “plan to” read… some that have been there for years. I’m really beginning to question whether this will really happen. You have inspired me Jennifer! I may have to have a “let’s be realistic” bookshelf purge.

  6. For many years I used to keep the books I’ve read. No more. I have about 4-5 that I know I’ll read again, but I donate everything else to school libraries or I put them in my own classroom library. I’ve even donated books I haven’t read yet because they don’t grab my attention or they’re in a genre I don’t care for. Since they don’t excite me, I figure they’re better off with others.

Leave a Reply

