Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

My Five Favorite Reads of 2012

12 Comments

(in the order that I read them / images from Goodreads)

TFIOSEverybody Sees the AntsRaven Boys coverwanderlovestory of us

The Fault in our Stars by John Green

This was such a well-balanced book. One minute I was laughing and the next I was crying. (My review from February)

Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King

Months after I read this, I realized I was still thinking about it. I’d be falling asleep at night and suddenly Lucky Linderman would pop into my head. (My review from August)

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Still freaking me out, even months later. So it must have done something right. (My review from October)

Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard

There was something so *right* about this book. It had a natural, smooth flow and I really liked the main character, Bria. She was in this transitional period of her life, which I’m sure we all went through after high school graduation. That whole, you know yourself, but do you? I liked that she was vulnerable without being a pushover. And how this trip helped heal old wounds.

The Story of Us by Deb Caletti

I debated for awhile on whether or not to add this one to my top five list, because some of the transitions between chapters felt clunky and Cricket’s emails to her boyfriend/not boyfriend were dull at times. But there was so much else I liked, and her situation with her boyfriend really struck a chord with me. It’s another one with a girl just out of high school and facing a lot of life changes. I loved the huge cast of characters, her close relationship with her mom and brother, and the meatiness of the book. Mostly, though, it was Cricket’s understandable fear that the worst will always happen (I, too, am afflicted with this syndrome) and her trying to figure out her love for her boyfriend, and a possible life without him, when she’s been with him so long that he’s basically like one of her appendages.

Other fantastic books I read this year:

If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman; Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Septetys; Wingshooters by Nina Revoyr; Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield; Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen; This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers; Wonder by R.J. Palacio; Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey; Ask the Passengers by A.S. King; How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr; The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

~~~

And that’s all from me for 2012! I’m devoting the next few weeks to family/friends/fun. I’ll “see” everyone in 2013!

But tell me – what fantastic books did you read this year?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

12 thoughts on “My Five Favorite Reads of 2012

  1. You’ve got a great list here.

    Enjoy your time. May you have a very Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and Joyful days into 2013 🙂

  2. 3 of those were favorite 2012 reads of mine–the other two I need to read ASAP. In particular EVERYBODY SEES THE ANTS, because I loved ASK THE PASSENGERS.

  3. I loved Green and King’s books. I need to read my copy of Wanderlove.

    Happy holidays!

  4. Thanks for the list. I’ll definitely be adding some to my 2013 TBR pile! The best books I read this year: The Book Thief, Winter Garden, The Healer of Fox Hollow. Those are right off the top of my head, but I’m going to look over my book blog to see what I’m forgetting. I love remembering great books of the year!

  5. TFIOS was perhaps the best book I’ve read EVER, not just this year. Good call on these five! Hope your holidays are amazing and full of love and happiness 🙂

  6. Looks like a fun list. The Fault in our Stars is the only one of these I’ve read.

  7. Everybody sees the Ants is definitely on my list of books I’m dying to read– glad to see another positive review here!

Leave a Reply

