Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Non-fiction November

8 Comments

I know, my title is boring. Why don’t more words rhyme with fiction? Friction, diction…bitchin’?

My bitchin’ non-fiction November?

Does that work?

Anyway, it’s once again time for the world to learn about the wide, odd assortment of things I find fascinating to read about. All descriptions from Goodreads.

Rabid: A Cultural History of the World’s Most Diabolical Virus by Bill Wasik and Monica Murphy

I think the title is self-explanatory.

~~~

When I Fell from the Sky: The True Story of One Woman’s Miraculous Survival by Juliane  Koepcke

She was 17-years-old on a Christmas Eve flight 40 years ago to join her father for Christmas when the unimaginable happened. The Lockheed L-188A Electra, on the way from Lima to Pucallpa, flew directly into a thunderstorm. A strike of lightning left the plane incinerated and Juliane Diller (Koepcke) still strapped to her plane seat falling through the night air two miles above the Earth…Her mother was among the 91 dead and Juliane the sole survivor. For eleven days she crawls and walks alone through the jungle, fighting for her survival again with hunger and despair her only companions as maggots eat their way into her wounds…

As if I need more reasons to fear flying.

~~~

The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore

Two kids with the same name lived in the same decaying city. One went on to be a Rhodes Scholar, decorated combat veteran, White House Fellow, and business leader. The other is serving a life sentence in prison. Here is the story of two boys and the journey of a generation.

In December 2000, the Baltimore Sun ran a small piece about Wes Moore, a local student who had just received a Rhodes Scholarship. The same paper also ran a series of articles about four young men who had allegedly killed a police officer in a spectacularly botched armed robbery. The police were still hunting for two of the suspects who had gone on the lam, a pair of brothers. One was named Wes Moore. 

Wes just couldn’t shake off the unsettling coincidence, or the inkling that the two shared much more than space in the same newspaper. After following the story of the robbery, the manhunt, and the trial to its conclusion, he wrote a letter to the other Wes, now a convicted murderer serving a life sentence without the possibility of parole. His letter tentatively asked the questions that had been haunting him: Who are you? How did this happen?

That letter led to a correspondence and relationship that have lasted for several years…

So am I the only one that likes reading about rabies? Or that likes to curl up with a good non-fic book?

PS: Happy NaNo-ing to all my writer friends participating – I’m cheering you on from the sidelines!

PPS: Check out the fun of Sip Swap – clickity click the button below for details

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

8 thoughts on “Non-fiction November

  1. WHAT?! She fell out of a plane for 2 miles and survived?! I don’t think I can ever read that because of my airplane issues, but wow. That is some incredible nonfiction.

  2. The Wes Moore book looks interesting.

  3. I love a good non-fiction, too. All three of these sound intriguing, but I love the whole description of the Wes Moore one. I am adding that to my TBR list right now.

  4. I really want to read When I Fell from the Sky.

    I’d like to read more non-fiction. It seems like I’ve been on a fiction roll these past few years.

  5. She fell out of the ****ing plane and survived??? WHAT?

Leave a Reply

