Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Sorry, no NaNo

19 Comments

This week’s RTW topic is: Are you doing NaNoWriMo, or have you ever? Does having a deadline inspire you?

I’m not doing NaNo, nor have I ever because I’m a pantster and an edit-as-I go type of gal, so it’s hard for me to finish an entire draft in a few weeks.

However, I am planning a complete rewrite of an old WIP, with the hopes I can have a first draft by the end of 2012. It’ll be about the 4th rewrite because I can’t get it quite right. The characters and the overall situation are there, but it’s like I can’t mesh it all together in a satisfying way. Maybe I should give it up entirely, but I can’t seem to quit you, book, because I have a feeling you’ll be good when all is said and done.

The MS has been in a metaphorical drawer since last spring and I’m excited for another go.

Yes, I’m very keen on deadlines. I work better under pressure. I do most everything better under pressure. My husband laughs because if there’s an emergency, I am completely calm and collected, but tell me I need to do one little thing in the next month and I’ll over-think it to the point of nausea.

Not that I enjoy being under pressure, but it’s just the way it goes, I guess.

Anyone doing NaNo? I’ll cheer you on from the sidelines!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

19 thoughts on “RTW – Sorry, no NaNo

  1. I’m in the same boat. A pantster who edits and it takes me a long time to finish a draft so NaNo is not right for me. We can have our own national novel writing year! 🙂

  2. Anyone doing NaNo? I’ll cheer you on from the sidelines!

    I’m doing NaNo this year (my first proper go at it).

    It should be interesting, its about a 3 hour a day writing committment (based on my free-writing pace), so its going to be a real challenge to maintain that over 30 days.

  3. I’m doing NaNo but on my own terms. It’s a great opportunity to complete a project that I’ve already started, which is kind of like what you’re doing too! 🙂 I just like the idea of having that motivation and accountability that comes with others participating in it, so that’s why I’m taking part. I’m like you on working well under pressure and over-thinking things I have too long to accomplish. 🙂

  4. No NaNo for me; maybe next year! I would have to cheat and outline beforehand, though, I think.
    I love deadlines, but like you I overthink things in advance. Last-minute is fine, but if I know I have to have something done in weeks, I will not be able to relax until it’s finished–from day 1.

  5. Wowa, edit as you go! That’s such a good way of doing it but takes so much patience! I was discussing that method with someone the other day. I’m the total opposite, I throw everything onto the paper like word vomit and then clean it up later! Good luck with rewriting your WIP!

  6. Not this year! I did it the last two years, and it was a great experience. Right now I’m about 25,000 words into a new WIP and plan to focus on getting that draft finished. I have another novel that’s been through multiple drafts and two professional edits, but it’s still not working right for me…so that’s next. Then there’s last year’s NaNo novel, which will need substantial revising. I guess I need to get some books DONE before I start anything new!

  7. I haven’t done NaNo yet, but I’d like to someday.

    I work better under pressure. If I have no self-imposed or real deadlines then little will get done.

  8. I have a MS with the same issue. Tons of rewrites, and it’s still not quite there. My husband thinks I’m just being a perfectionist, but I think writerly instincts don’t lie. I had to give it up for now, but maybe I can come back to it next year with fresh eyes like you’re doing with yours!

    Undecided on NaNo, but I don’t think I’m going to do it. Too much other stress in my life right now for me to willingly add another, haha…

  9. I’m not doing it either. I’ve heard everyone loves it, but I’m not big on word count goals. Time goals work better for me.

  10. Hah! I am so with you on the better under pressure. I am beginning to wonder now if it’s because the perfectionist in me has to finally shut up and just let the work get done? Good luck with your MS!

Leave a Reply

