Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

The Next Big Thing

10 Comments

I was tagged by the ultra talented Melissa Sarno, so here’s a little bit about my WIP:

What is your working title of your book?

Those Wild Marluchians

Where did the idea come from for the book?

From a long-discarded other book where that main character lived next door to some of the current main character’s family. They were a loud, crazy bunch and I wanted to get to know them better. Thus, the Marluchian family came to be.

What genre does your book fall under?

YA Contemp

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

The only one I can really think of is for my MC, Emma:

(pic from imdb)

Haley Pullos, except with darker hair and slightly older because Em is almost 16

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

I suck at these.

After Emma’s cousin, Ralph, drunkenly confesses he’s in love with her, he runs away, leaving her to deal with their panicked family and her mixed-up feelings.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Hope an agency

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? May we see an intro?

I attempted to write this for Nano, I think in 2010, but couldn’t get past about 25k because I didn’t know where the story was going. I picked it up again last spring and think it took about a month or two to get a complete first draft.

First lines: Zoe was taking off her clothes in the living room. I gazed at my hands while Ralph engrossed himself in an old TV Guide.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Um…

The story takes place in a small town, so there are hang-outs and quirky characters, and what I hope is a sense of community, like in Deb Caletti’s The Six Rules of Maybe or Sarah Dessen’s The Truth About Forever.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

In the long ago discarded book I mentioned before, my now MC was only 10 and her cousin 12. They were inseparable best friends and I wondered what they’d be like as teens.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Chase Lewis – Emma’s crush, who she first met after stumbling upon him skinny-dipping at the lake one night. He’s relatively new to town and his life before is a mystery. Emma writes for her school newspaper and has a journalistic mind, so it drives her crazy. All she really knows is that he has a New-Jerseyish accent and likes classic rock.

I know I’m supposed to tag more people, but I can’t remember who’s already done it, so it’s a free-for-all! Let me know if you answer the questions about your WIP, so I can come check out the details!

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

10 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. I love THOSE WILD MARLUCHIANS! And that is a perfect casting choice for Emma, both in terms of looks and the personality that comes through in the photo. I need a picture to visual Chase now!!

  2. THOSE WILD MARLUCHIANS sounds like a great book! Good luck with it! NANO is coming up again, you know.

  3. Oooh, I’m so intrigued! Love, love the idea for the book.

  4. I love YA contemporary. Your project sounds awesome.

  5. Um…can I read this NOW?!?!?! Seriously, Jennifer, this sounds AMAZING. You hooked me with so many things, but your one line pitch (that you DO NOT suck at) really reeled me in. Love, love, love this already!

Leave a Reply

