Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Best Book of September

8 Comments

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Description from Goodreads:

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances? 

Wonder is one of those “quiet books,” as I call them, that will stick with me for a long time. It’s a good story, all by itself, but what clenched it for me was the POV shifts, especially the ones that seemed unexpected at first, like Via’s boyfriend. It gave everything a big picture feel.

Most of the book is through Auggie’s eyes and he’s a great kid – smart, funny, and a little bit dorky with his Star Wars love. At times, he could be whiny and immature, but that just made him even more realistic to me. He’s at that age I can still remember, when you start to realize you’re not a little kid anymore. I think the principal sums it up well with these lines:

“…this particular age that you are right now, this particular moment in your lives that, even after twenty years of my being around students this age, still moves me. Because you’re at the cusp, kids. You’re at the edge between childhood and everything that comes after. You’re in transition.” –page 299

There were moments that made me choke up, most often because of his family. His parents are fantastic and his sister is sweet. I really felt for her, because she seems so much older, but she’s only in her first year of high school and is going through the same uncertainty he is with a new place and new friends.

And while there were mean kids and a scary situation on a school trip, this was actually a feel-good book with a fairly simple message – be kind.

What’s the best book you read in September?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

8 thoughts on “RTW – Best Book of September

  1. This sounds really great! Funny how “be kind” is such a simple message but one that we all need to reminded of, much of the time.
    The cusp age is why I really like writing MG, I think. It’s such a rich time.

  2. Ooh! I haven’t heard of this one until today… I’m intrigued! I’m pretty picky about the MG I pick up, but I think I’m going to have to add WONDER to my TRB. Thanks, Jennifer!

  3. This has been on my wish list for a while. I’ve read many great things about it. It does sound like an emotional book.

  4. I really need to read this book.

  5. WONDER sounds like a great book. The best book I read in September was LIFE OF PI. It was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

