Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – I’m giving 110% here!

9 Comments

 

In honor of the end of the Olympics, share your favorite sports book

 

My first thought was this series I read when I was a kid about junior gymnasts.  I think it was The Gymnasts by Elizabeth Levy.  (or it’s what I found when I did a search and it seems right):

I read these during my “I’m going to be an Olympian one day!” phase, ignoring the little fact that doing back-flips did (and still does) terrify me.

 

Then I thought of Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger – a quick search of my blog archives and I found what I wrote about it in 2010, when I listed it as one of my best reads of the year:

This book made me think. Really think. There were several places where I read out loud to the people around me because my jaw had dropped. I live in an area where high school football games are something you either go to or not. If not, no big deal. So it was hard for me to imagine an entire town’s hopes and dreams basically resting on the shoulders of a bunch of teenagers. The book was heartbreaking and shocking in some places and it’s not surprising that Bissinger got flak for his portrayal of the area/people – he didn’t sugarcoat anything.

I’m a fan of creative non-fiction and sports books, so anything like that is usually a win-win for me.

A bit off-topic, but I’m forcing it to relate

So it appears I’m still not back into a regular blogging habit, but I saw something yesterday that inspired me – red leaves, which means cooler weather and nostalgia are on the way!  (I ignored the fact it’s insanely dry conditions that are causing the leaves to change early)

I am also pumped today because I am participating in several sports-inspired events.

Firstly, my parents are out-of town overnight, so I am at their house to feed/water their pets and it’s like watching the Cat Hunger Games.  Normally, the three felines (plus the neighbor’s cat who has taken over the front porch) don’t really hang out, but at times like this they form an uneasy alliance, banding together to survive those terrible few hours without sustenance.

Secondly, I sorta neglected laundry for several weeks because I was busy with edits and my new apartment doesn’t have a washer/dryer hook-up.  So I am attempting to wash about 40,000 loads today before sundown.

What is everyone else up to?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

9 thoughts on “RTW – I’m giving 110% here!

  1. Haha, I love that Gymnasts book. I wondered during the Olympics when the practice of wearing little slippers fell away. I saw that some of the gymnasts still wore them but none of the US gymnasts.

    I read Friday Night Lights many years ago and experienced many of the same feelings. Wow. So interesting.

    Good luck with the Cat Hunger Games. May the odds be ever in your favor. Ditto for the laundry. 🙂

  2. Thank you for reminding me of those books–how I loved them.
    I didn’t actually know that Friday Night Lights was a book in addition to a show–both sound pretty interesting to me. (I have so many friends who insist that FNL is their favorite show)
    I still have a lot of vacation-catch-up laundry to do. And catch-up cleaning. And catch-up revising. Ay!

  3. Oh my gosh! The Gymnasts! I ADORED those books when I was young! They were second only to my love of the BSC. My favorite gymnast was the one whose father was the NFL player, the tall girl… Darlene, maybe? Something like that!

    Good luck on the laundry front. I’m doing a bit of that myself today. 🙂

  4. I haven’t come across that series.

    My favorite gymnasts growing up were Nadia Comaneci and Mary Lou Retton.

    I hate it when laundry builds up, and then I’m full of relief after finally doing all those loads.

  5. I really, really need to read FNL. As much as I heart football (and I teach at one of those uber-obsessed football schools), I should bump it up the TBR.

Leave a Reply

