Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

The Next Time You See Sky…

16 Comments

First off, I apologize in advance for this post which will be complaining and whiny.  The reason is this:

On Wednesday, my hubs and I got a notice that our lease wasn’t being renewed.  We have to find a new place to live by July.  The letter didn’t give any sort of reason, which makes the news even harder to swallow.  If we’d been late on rent or had wild parties or spent our time doing donuts on the lawn, I would have expected this.

Needless to say, we were blindsided.  My first reaction was to cry, but I didn’t because I only seem to cry at odd things, like cotton commercials and rarely when I should, like at death or physical pain.  Instead I got mad and called my dad to rant about the injustices of the world.  When I’m angry, I always feel better when other people join in with me – don’t we all?

My dad told me to take a few days to process before I call and find out a definite reason.  I’d already called once before I talked to him, but I was still in the stunned phase and wasn’t at all mean about things.  The answers my husband and I received were vague – maybe the owner is selling?  Maybe his son is moving back to town and needs a place to live?

I don’t need to know so much for my own sake, but because I don’t want to be blindsided again when I give my current landlord as a reference and it turns out my husband and I were thought of as horrible monsters with our flower bed and vegetable garden.

Speaking of my garden, I had to hack it up and dismantle the fence surrounding it this morning because we’ll be moving soon and there was no use keeping it.  So goodbye peas, green beans, spinach and carrots; I hope a nice family of rabbits has a tremendous feast tonight, because that would make me happy.

And my flowers are coming with me – maybe we won’t have a yard to put them in, but that’s what old paint buckets and storage tubs are for.

So the hubs and I are bummed, but ah well, another bump in the road.  We’ll figure things out, like we always do.

In the meantime, I’m thinking positively and watching “hell yes!” movie scenes:

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

16 thoughts on “The Next Time You See Sky…

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this 😦 I cringed when you said you had to rip out the garden. Noooo! Not the peas. Your new garden will be bigger and better, I am sure of it. And I hope you find a new home even better than this one. One that makes you sublimely happy.

  2. This is heartbreaking, and (sadly) I know exactly how you feel because the same thing happened to me and my fiance 2 years ago. We loved our apartment and were blindsided by a letter informing us that the lease wouldn’t be renewed. We were perfect tenants! It made no sense! It was so stressful to have to pack up unexpectedly, find a new place, and leave an apartment we loved to call home. Ugh. I basically cried nonstop for weeks. Well, and ranted and swore. Sometimes at the same time.
    Feel free to email if you need to vent!

  3. Well, now, WTH? Okay, so this does not sound like a rant-for-nothing. Here’s to hoping things go well with your search and that your new location will be a wonderful new space to call your own.

    Sending you virtual hugs and some positive vibes with a cheesy grin!!!

  4. …it will be over a different town. Jennifer, this just sucks– it must be especially frustrating to leave the garden behind. Of course I could say, “you’ll find a better place” and all of that– but THIS still sucks. :0( I hope it gets easier as the news has a chance to settle in.

  5. That is so horrible! I wish I lived closer to you so we could go gang up on someone and yell. I think we would make an intimidating team. And I’m sorry about your garden, too! I’m sure you’ll find another place that is great but the stress sucks.

  6. Aww, I’m sorry. What sucky news. But you know, I think that a lot of times decisions like this feel personal when they’re really not. I doubt your landlord is doing this due to anything you guys did! Though I know that doesn’t really take the crappiness out of the situation. I hope the inspirational movie clips cheer you up!

  7. Aww, such a bummer! I’m irritated for you! Still, I hope you find someplace even better to live. And just think: Moving forces you to clean out your closets! 🙂

Leave a Reply

