Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

May reading list – Movies based on books

7 Comments

I always love doing this because I get to watch the movie after I finish the book.  It’s such a win-win.

I’m WINNING!

(all descriptions from Goodreads)

First up, a book I’ve checked out from the library two other times, but still haven’t read.  The third time is the charm, damnit, because I will read it first.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Isiguro

As a child, Kathy–now thirty-one years old–lived at Hailsham, a private school in the scenic English countryside where the children were sheltered from the outside world, brought up to believe that they were special and that their well-being was crucial not only for themselves but for the society they would eventually enter. Kathy had long ago put this idyllic past behind her, but when two of her Hailsham friends come back into her life, she stops resisting the pull of memory.

And so, as her friendship with Ruth is rekindled, and as the feelings that long ago fueled her adolescent crush on Tommy begin to deepen into love, Kathy recalls their years at Hailsham. She describes happy scenes of boys and girls growing up together, unperturbed–even comforted–by their isolation. But she describes other scenes as well: of discord and misunderstanding that hint at a dark secret behind Hailsham’s nurturing facade. With the dawning clarity of hindsight, the three friends are compelled to face the truth about their childhood–and about their lives now.

Second:

I HAVE to read this because it’s been on the DVR since October and my husband is annoyed because I keep telling him we can’t watch it until I read the book.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

The author of “Be More Chill” takes a poignant look at teenage depression in this remarkably moving and authentic picture of the physicality, the despair, and even the hilarity of depression.

Third and also on the DVR (and how adorable does this book sound???):

Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

Flipped is a romance told in two voices. The first time Juli Baker saw Bryce Loski, she flipped. The first time Bryce saw Juli, he ran. That’s pretty much the pattern for these two neighbors until the eighth grade, when, just as Juli is realizing Bryce isn’t as wonderful as she thought, Bryce is starting to see that Juli is pretty amazing. How these two teens manage to see beyond the surface of things and come together makes for a comic and poignant romance.

Finally!  And I will watch this movie for like the billionth time because I own it.  That’s how hardcore I am.

The Warriors by Sol Yurick

The basis for the cult-classic film, “The Warriors” chronicles one New York City gang’s nocturnal journey through the seedy, dangerous subways and city streets of the 1960s.

(why, yes, the word “nocturnal” does make me shudder; it reminds me of learning about boys in middle school sex ed)

WAIT!!!

I said “finally,” but there’s another book I’ll be reading for YA Book Club – Insurgent by Veronica Roth!  And since this is the 2nd in the series, I should really go read Divergent first.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

7 thoughts on “May reading list – Movies based on books

  1. I loved Never Let Me Go- haven’t seen the film yet. THanks for introducing me to Flipped. It sounds like something I want to read. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on the books and their movie adaptations!

  2. Let me know how you like NEVER LET ME GO! It’s been on my list forever.

  3. I didn’t read Never Let Me Go, but I did see the movie–I know, I’m awful. But the movie was really, really good, and in my defense, I didn’t know that it was a book until after I watched it. Oh well.

    And Flipped sounds adorable!

  4. Totally adding Flipped to my TBR. And yay for Insurgent! I’ll start reading this weekend!

  5. I believe I have Never Let Me Go in my TBR pile and I’m also pretty sure I have It’s Kind of a Funny Story on DVR.

    I have my copy of Insurgent. I can’t wait to read it.

  6. Yes, please go read DIVERGENT right now! 🙂 I haven’t read any of those books, but I’ve seen It’s Kind of a Funny Story and really liked it. It’s not Oscar-worthy or anything, but definitely charming and entertaining. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on the book!

Leave a Reply

