Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Dun Dun Duh Dun, Survey Time!

22 Comments

I nicked this from the blog of the fabulous Katy Upperman

A is for age: 33.  Which is astounding since my mom is only “21” and my grandmother “39.”

B is for breakfast today: Poptarts.  I think I singlehandedly keep this company in business.

C is for currently craving: For it to be hours later so all my errands will be done

D is for dinner tonight: Dunno yet.  Hopefully something easy and quick since it’s Friday and I don’t feel like cooking

E is for favorite type of exercise: Kickboxing

F is for an irrational fear: Being trapped (in an elevator, an avalanche, a traffic jam, etc)

G is for gross food: Lettuce.  Worst food ever.

H is for hometown: Shenandoah Valley of Virginia.  Helltown, to be specific.  Yes, my hometown actually used to be known as that.  A high-five if you can tell me the current name.

I is for something important: My hubs

J is for current favorite jam: I’ve seen this answered as food and music, so I’ll do both.  I’m not a big fan of fruit, but I do like orange marmalade (Paddington Bear, in the house!)

As for music, I woke up with a song stuck in my head; I’ll paste vid at the end of this survey – oh, the anticipation to know what it is!

K is for kids: None

L is for current location: Living room

M is for the most recent way you spent money: Bills

N is for something you need: Water

O is for occupation: I do computer “stuff” for my day job and writing as my “other” job

P is for pet peeve: Getting in my car after I let someone borrow it and there is no gas.  Basically anything like that – eating or drinking the last of something and putting the empty box/container back on the shelf; using all the toilet paper and not grabbing a new roll…

Q is for a quote: This is my go-to But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward.” –Rocky Balboa

But I sent this one to a friend yesterday, so I’ll include it, too:

“Everyone has talent. What’s rare is the courage to follow it to the dark places where it leads.” –Erica Jong

R is for random fact about you: I listen to REO Speedwagon when I clean my house

S is for favorite healthy snack: I think my body would rebel if I attempted to eat healthy.  But I do like popcorn with just salt (no butter or anything).  And pretzels are cool, too.

T is for favorite treat: I love anything salty (well, like chips, not like a salt lick, although I’m not opposed to trying that)

U is for something that makes you unique: I have crazy vivid dreams, emphasis on crazy.

In my dream world:

Badgers talk (but only to admonish the angry bears chasing me)

I perform variety shows at my high school with the Portland Trail Blazers (note: I’ve never been to Oregon and am not even really a basketball fan)

Betty White springs out of nowhere with a knife to save me from a snake (that randomly showed up while I was shopping for books and beaded curtains in a grocery store turned thrift store).

V is for favorite vegetable: Spinach.  Or green beans.  While I dislike fruit, I love most vegetables.

W is for today’s workout: Does getting out of bed count?

X is for X-rays you’ve had: Teeth, arm, back, lungs

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: Um…I shouldn’t have to think this hard about something, but I’m not a morning person.  I randomly heard 4 Non Blondes “What’s Up” and it reminded me of the 90s, which was cool.

Z is for your time zone: Eastern

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

22 thoughts on “Dun Dun Duh Dun, Survey Time!

  1. I learned so many new things about you Jennifer! I love your quotes. I’m all about salty food as well. I want a salt lick (what’s that?) And your Betty White dream is fabulous.

    • Ah, you city girl 😉 A salt lick is this giant block of salt that people set out for deer and other wildlife. I’d probably lick one, just to do it, as long as I was the first one at it. Don’t think I could handle eating after a wild animal, though.

  2. Love your dreams; I’d like to see a collection of them in book form. 🙂 I share your irrational fear! Now I could go for a Smores Poptart.

  3. I love that Erica Jong quote! Great A-Z! I’ll probably do mine next week. 🙂

  4. Ha! I love your answer for age… Sounds like a miracle to me. 🙂 And I can’t believe you don’t like lettuce! I eat a salad nearly ever day. I hear ya on the salty snacks though… Have you tried ice cream with crumbled pretzels on top? To die for!

  5. What a really fun post! I’d love to try kickboxing. And seriously…you are Poptarts for breakfast. That makes my stomach hurt just thinking about it 🙂

  6. That should say “ate”. How rude to call you a Poptart, huh?

  7. 1. I, too, would probably try a salt lick. I love my salty snacks.
    2. Getting out of bed – that is my kind of workout. I have to force myself to exercise, unless in some idyllic location that at least makes working out pretty.
    3. Taillights Fade is one of my all-time favorite songs. And there aren’t many people that can say that!

  8. I love these little get-to-know-you things. I think I might have to rip this off too when the A to Z Challenge wraps up. I had to laugh when you said marmalade, because the first thing that popped into my head was Paddington Bear (obviously yours too). Great list of fun stuff 🙂

  9. Front Royal! *high five*

    I used to drive to Front Royal with my BFF whenever we skipped school… not because it was a great destination, but we would just go get lost in the mountains and we always ended up in Front Royal somehow.

  10. It’s funny that I don’t eat Poptarts, but (and you know this) I think ALL of my characters do. I didn’t know how much you liked them!

    Great quotes! I think I’ll steal this. 🙂

  11. Oh man, I have crazy vivid dreams, too. Often related to the apocalypse or wild chases or danger. My horses are often with me. I love my dreams but I love waking up from them even more. Last night’s involved a canary, a cat, and a train that went hurtling off its tracks. Thanks for stopping by my blog so often through A-Z

  12. Pingback: Blog Me MAYbe! : Crystal Schubert

Leave a Reply

