Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Prom!

17 Comments

This week’s topic is:

It’s almost prom season, and since we love to read and write about teenagers, we want to hear your prom stories!

I actually just recently blogged about prom, when talking about the Disney movie of the same name:

Definitely a cute movie, although it’s hard for me to find Prom-mania believable since my boyfriend I rolled up in a Lynx with me in a dress from the thrift store. Instead of going to dinner beforehand, we went to the video store and browsed used Sega games.

This kind of Lynx:

 

Not this kind:

The latter might have happened if Doogie Howser stole my car and a cheetah wasn’t available.

anyway…

This is what I wore (I didn’t know if hubs would appreciate his pic on my blog, so I cropped him out):

These are my exact words, from my journal (April 13, 1997):

Last night was Prom and I swear it sucked so bad.  The theme was “Crazy Love” (the theme song by Van Halen – GAG!)  My prom sucked.  End of story.

I was ever so eloquent at 18.

I don’t actually remember what Van Halen song it was.  It was a tradition at my school for the juniors to pick the theme and decorate.  During my junior year, this was the song/theme we picked.  We so rocked (although it’s odd that we were picking 10 year old songs):

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

17 thoughts on “RTW – Prom!

  1. Love that journal entry! And the photo! My prom was so lackluster. It was the only dance I went to (with a date) in HS, although I kind of wish in retrospect that I had just gone with a group of friends. The awkwardness, the awkwardness.

  2. Lookin’ good Pickrell! I did not attend my prom. I wish it was because I was just anti-establishment like that, but really, I was just a nerd. 😉 I think you were perfectly eloquent in your journal.

  3. I think that thrift store dress looks mighty nice on you. And you look marvelous, darling.

    I can recall bits and pieces of my prom. I was mostly pissed because my boyfriend couldn’t come and I’d bought a cute white fitted dress, one that I couldn’t fit in now if my life depended on it. I didn’t take a picture with anyone, but the guy I caught a ride with took me by Rally’s fast food restaurant…I think that was after I ditched the prom…heck, it just wasn’t all that.

  4. That’s a great picture of you and I love The Cure.

    I didn’t go to the prom. I was going through an anti-social, anti-establishment phase. And like Melissa, I was a nerd as well.

  5. It’s too bad your bf didn’t pick you up on an actual lynx… but I could see how that might get out of control pretty quickly.

    And I love the journal entry! I’ve kept all of my journals from high school, too, and I love going back and reading over my ridiculous, melodramatic commentary for everything, lol.

  6. I will be in the enviable role of prom chaperone – next Saturday. I’m thrift store shopping and plan on wearing a for-real prom dress and high tops so that I fit the part of art teacher. :0) I won’t look nearly as gorgeous as you look in that photo :0)

  7. Such a cute picture – and I am guessing bf became hubby? 😀
    And I love love love the journal entry!

  8. love that you still have access to your high school journal! That prom entry is exudes such perfect teen angst, and your dress is awesome! So glad you shared!

Leave a Reply

