Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

I totally just rocked the drop

9 Comments

My hubs unexpectedly needed my car today for work and even when he got home, I had the day job to finish up.  When I was finally done, it was getting dark and the only open places close enough for me and my terrible night vision to reach were the E.R. and the post office lobby.

I chose the P.O.

That seemed slightly less intrusive than waltzing in on people in crisis.

There was a dude intently sorting through his mail and I felt very lurkerer as I tried to discreetly take a picture and leave the books without seeming like I was planting suspicious items.  I did a lot of staring at packaging supplies while jingling my keys like I needed to get into my P.O. Box.

But success as you can see below!

Maybe next year I’ll have daylight hours to drop at a coffee shop or a school.

I’ll laugh if I get a call from my dad tomorrow saying, “I went to check my mail and someone left books in here!”

Even more so if he says, “I picked them up for you!”

 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

9 thoughts on “I totally just rocked the drop

  1. Ha! My husband drove me around while I was dropping my books off today. After I’d successfully left a book at our local McDonald’s and walked out, he said I looked like I’d left explosives behind. Nope… just a YA novel. 🙂

  2. You’re so funny! I’d do the same thing, though: jingle the keys, make like I’m doing something else–as though leaving books is a crime 🙂 Way to go, though. Good choice to avoid the ER. People getting their mail are far more relaxed. Usually.

  3. Awesome! Maybe you saved the person who finds/found them from boredom in a long line for stamps! I wanted to leave one on the subway, but I was worried about the whole “If you see something, say something campaign.”

  4. That was ha-larious, Jennifer! I felt the same way leaving the books where I did – as if I might get arrested for dropping great books for someone else to read! Funny how that is…it just shows what kind of world we live in now.
    Glad you were able to drop them off – hope they don’t return to you, via your father! 🙂

  5. I did it this year too! It was so much fun. My library has benches out in front, so I left mine there. I received a bunch of funny looks from people driving past, but whatever, it was for the cause. 🙂

  6. Yay – I decided to donate some new releases to my library. They have no budget and figure my books will get to more readers that way. But next year maybe I’ll do the whole rock the drop thing.

  7. Woah this blog is fantastic i like studying your posts. Keep up the good work! You recognize, many people are searching around for this information, you can help them greatly.

Leave a Reply

