Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

10 Questions

6 Comments

I’ve been tagged by Jaye Robin Brown!

1. What is your dream vacation?

I’m more of an armchair traveler.  The few times I have taken a vacation I over-planned – must see this and since we’re only 90 minutes away from that, we have to go there.  Oh and here!  And that place!

Needless to say, I stressed myself out and drove my hubby crazy.  So any vacation that would allow me to lounge on a private beach or on a screened-in porch in the mountains, doing nothing but reading or similar…yeah, that’ll do.

Or going to see Hemingway’s cats in the FL Keys.  I’d love to do that, too.

2. Are you spontaneous or do you like to plan ahead?

It depends.  I have this odd habit of fretting about little things, like trying to pick a snack in the store.  But all the big decisions I’ve ever made (both the cars I’ve owned and every place I’ve ever rented) were done in about two seconds.

3. Tell us one thing you want to do but don’t dare to do.

I’ve always sorta wanted to be in a band, but my drumming skills are less than stellar and I’d probably faint from stage fright.  Or scuba diving, which seems beautiful and terrifying all at the same time.

4. What’s your biggest phobia?

This question would be easier to answer if it was “What are you NOT freaked out by?”  I’m a bit neurotic over things.

5. If you were stranded on a desert island – what 3 things would you want with you (not including laptop, or family).

I always think the same thing when I hear this sort of question – why would I be on this island?  I get seasick so I’d never be on a boat and I’m scared to fly, so wouldn’t be on a plane.  But, if I was there, for whatever reason, I’m assuming my hubby would be there, too, which is a big plus since he’s handy and level-headed.

The three other things I’d want are: Some sort of GPS locator so the rescue workers can find me, fresh water, and a nice shelter.

6. Name three blessings in your life.

My family, my paying job b/c it allows me the flexibility to do my third thing, writing

7. What was your nickname in High School?

Pickel.  So when I hear someone call me that, I figure I’ve known them for a long time.

8. If you could meet the President of the United States, what would you say to him?

“How you doin’?”

HAHA, yeah right, I’d probably be all shy and awkward and mumble, “Hi,” while I stared at the ground and blushed.

9. If you could be any literary character for a day, who would you be?

I’m cheating a little b/c this is a book character, but I’d want to be the movie version (I like the movie better) of Sheriff Brody from Jaws.  He gets to hang out with Quint, who is awesomely nuts, and he’s tackling his fear of the water while kicking ass.  But about a day of that anticipation, seasickness, and fear would be about all I could take.

10. What is your favorite quote?

I’ve got a few favorites, but one of my stand-bys, what I always think of when I’m having a crappy day where it feels like the universe is kicking me when I’m down:

From the movie Rocky Balboa (I’m a huge fan of the entire franchise, minus V):

But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward.

What about everyone else?  Any dream vacations?  Favorite quotes?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

6 thoughts on “10 Questions

  1. I also want to see Hemingway’s cats! I think they have an odd number of toes or something?
    I like the Rocky quote.

  2. So I ended up doing this one over at my blog. Is it bad that I put my cats as one of my blessings? 🙂 I think I’m asking you this because I know you won’t think it’s weird. haha!

  3. I love to sight see, but one of my favorite vacations was staying in an oceanside hotel, relaxing on the beach and reading.

    I usually plan ahead, but many times I’m spontaneous.

    I hope you’re enjoying your weekend.

  4. My next life I’m going to have a voice and do the stage thing. This time around, I’m with you – total stage fright.

    Fun to read your answers.

Leave a Reply

