Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Pigs to the Rescue!

6 Comments

The other week I once again had the privilege of reading (and being a rock star!) to a kindergarten class at the school where my mom works.

I put a lot of prep into picking my book each time.  My process goes a little something like this:

Firstly, I put a call out to all my friends with kids around this age.

Then I go to the library and get those books, but also spend awhile looking for anything else that catches my attention.

Finally, I bring all the books to my mom so we can read them and figure out which one the kids would probably like best.

Extreme?

Most likely.  Especially considering the actual reading only takes about five minutes.  But those five minutes are so much fun, for me and for the kids.

I think I had the best book yet this past time, lots of interaction and one boy even wanted me to read it again.

So here’s a recommendation (pic and description from Goodreads):

Farmer Greenstalk and his family have the darnedest luck. Broken-down tractors, kites stuck in trees—they’re always having problems! It’s a good thing they have such helpful farm animals on hand.

This time around, the pigs want to pitch in, and boy, do they ever! The Greenstalks soon find, though, that life might just be a little easier without their help…

 

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

6 thoughts on “Pigs to the Rescue!

  1. So cute! Not extreme at all. Reading is serious business. And by that I mean serious fun. And I owe you an email!

  2. PIGS TO THE RESCUE looks adorable. It reminds me of CLICK CLACK MOO, which I love.

  3. I love reading to kids. I’ve only read to children a few times, since most of my experience is with middle and high schoolers.

    This sounds like a charming book.

  4. keep the suggestions coming! these will come in handy! 😉

Leave a Reply

