Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

February Reflections

4 Comments

I know, there’s still a week left in February, but I was the worst blind date reader EVER…

Here’s what happened:

I’m a klutz and hurt myself.  Nothing major, just a pulled muscle or something, but enough that I took it easy and didn’t drive much.  Two of my February books were at a library about 15 miles away, so those were out.  Then I just couldn’t get in the mindset to read Gertrude Stein.

So I only went on one “date,” with “Sorta Like a Rock Star.”

The evening started off shaky because it was hard to get used to the way my date spoke and the whole Pollyanna* attitude.  But then I met my date’s friends and they were pretty freaking cool.  Super nice, too.  And the whole experience ended up being good.  True?  True.

FAVE QUOTE I READ

(from John Green’s Will Grayson, Will Grayson)

“When things break, it’s not the actual breaking that prevents them from getting back together again.  It’s because a little piece gets lost – the two remaining ends couldn’t fit together even if they wanted to.  The whole shape has changed.”

MOVIES

The beginning was blah, whatever, it felt like it dragged on, but that might be because my husband kept walking in front of the TV and asking, “Why are you watching this?”  Like 50 times.

The second half – OMFG…I’m traumatized beyond belief.  The snapping and the screaming and the blood.  As if labor doesn’t seem scary enough already.

I was glad the popular girl was nice for a change (instead of some Queen Bee bitch) and the “bad” boy was no slouch in the looks department.  Although, on a spectrum of “bad,” with one being sneaking a cookie before bed, he was at about a .02.

The space-case boy was adorable with his “girlfriend” in Canada and the Lloyd character seemed like a wink/nod to 80s teen movies, which I appreciated.

The two sophomore guys were cool – the sophomore girl totally sucked.

My favorite couple was the guy/girl who’d been together for years and who face the possibility of going to colleges far away from each other.  They were sweet and supportive.

And parents!!!  These kids had parents who actually did parenty things!

Definitely a cute movie, although it’s hard for me to find Prom-mania believable since my boyfriend I rolled up in a Lynx (like the Wikipedia pic below, only tan) with me in a dress from the thrift store.  Instead of going to dinner beforehand, we went to the video store and browsed used Sega games.


WRITING

I finished my revisions!  Woo-hoo!  Now my WIP is off with betas and I’m working on something new.  I plan to do lots of work on it in March because it’s once again time for:

Head over to Denise Jaden’s blog next Wednesday (February 29) for full details.

I’m still in the process of figuring out my goals, so I don’t have any to ramble about yet.

And that’s all, folks!

What is everyone else up to lately?  Any good books read, writing goals made, non-traumatizing movies watched???

*This might make me sound like a monster, but I hate the movie Pollyanna.  You know, that one with Hayley Mills.  When I was a kid, my mom used to watch it and I wanted the character to be real so I could yell at her to stop being so damned optimistic.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

4 thoughts on “February Reflections

  1. I love that quote from John Green.
    Birth scenes terrify me–I don’t think I could make it through Breaking Dawn without a blindfold! Except I’ve read so much about that movie that I want to. (I have not, however, actually read the book–which is one of my secret shames.)

  2. I just saw Breaking Dawn recently, too, and I couldn’t even watch the birth scene all the way through. I had to look away–it was far too intense.

Leave a Reply

