Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Things I Love – Family Edition. Now with 20% more books!

7 Comments

The other week my dad called to tell me about a publishing article he saw in a magazine that he thought I’d be interested in reading.  Of course, he didn’t actually have the article in front of him, so I had to sit and wait patiently (while I was at work) as he dug around to find it.

But that’s my dad and I would expect nothing less.

In addition to sharing articles, we also swap books.  Usually non-fic because I’ve yet to convince him to read YA.

No worries, though, because YA book-swapping is what my mom and I do.  And my older bro and I used to sit around, reading about those incorrigible twins from Sweet Valley.

My younger bro and I have also swapped books – he’s the one I borrowed the entire series of Harry Potter from.  In turn, he borrowed my hubby’s Wheel of Time collection.  I attempted to read the first WOT book.  It took me a month.  Sorry high fantasy.

You’d think the book-love would end there, but it doesn’t!

Bully! (in a Teddy Roosevelt sort of way)

When my older bro and I were kids, one of our cousins used to give us gift certificates to the local bookstore for Christmas.  I thought he was THE coolest person EVER.

Bully! (in a standard bullying sort of way)

My dad and his sisters exchange books.  Sometimes I get to be a part of this.  We are a stubborn, argumentative lot, so it’s not so much:

“I think you’ll like this,”

it’s more of:

“You WILL like this!  Read it!  And as quickly as possible, because someone else is waiting!”

But I kinda like that.  It’s like we’re in this one-upmanship Game of Book (which would be a whole lot more like The Westing Game, nothing at all like Game of Thrones).

How about you all – what family member is your “book buddy?”  Or is your entire family book-crazed like mine?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

7 thoughts on “Things I Love – Family Edition. Now with 20% more books!

  1. This is wonderful! My Dad doesn’t read at all. BUT he actually began reading the Harry Potter series before I did. Then he lent me the first book and the rest is history. I’m glad we shared that.

  2. That must me awesome to have a family that is so involved with reading! Neither of my parents read much, but my sister and I exchange books from time to time. I would say 99% of the time we do not have the same taste, so it’s tough to recommend things to one another. Mainly, I exchange books with friends 🙂

  3. I must say how much I love you for including references to both TR and The Westing Game in this post. You win at life!

  4. My mom will tell me about publishing articles and clip them for me. My parents will push books on me, but I’ve yet to convince them to try YA or any fantasy.

  5. I love it that your entire family is so book-crazed! My mom and I exchange titles fairly often, but my true “book buddy” is a friend in NYC. We’ve had a virtual book club of two for almost 20 years. I can always count on her to know what I will like!

Leave a Reply

