Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives – Five Novels (made into movies)

7 Comments

The topic this week at Paper Hangover is what five novels I’m looking forward to in 2012.  Since I already blogged about this, I decided to twist things up a bit and list the five MOVIES BASED ON BOOKS I’m looking forward to this year.

1. Hunger Games

This falls under the “of course” category.  I feel like I don’t even need to explain my choice.  Click on link to watch trailer, in case you’ve been living under a rock and had no idea this was going to be a movie.  Or that it’s even a book.

2. Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters

(okay, so it’s been pushed back to early 2013, but since it was initially slated for 2012, it’s going on the list!)

(source)

It stars Jeremy Renner and some other people who I’ve neglected to remember.  Because, you guys, it’s Jeremy Mother-Cussing Renner!  There’s something solid about him, like he would carry you from a burning building and get you a blanket.  It’s possible (like 100% so) that I’m basing my opinion of the actor on two roles I saw him in:

Twelve and Holding (former firefighter) and The Unusuals (cop)

3. The Great Gatsby

(source)

The promo shots are gorgeous and I have high hopes for this being all atmospheric and awesome.

4. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

(warning, sappy trailer under above link)

Okay, I admit, this movie looks blecky to me.  It’s all heart-warming and all those other things I don’t particularly care for.  But it stars Sandra Bullock and I like her.  So yeah.  That’s pretty much the only reason I’ll watch it.  When it comes on cable and I don’t actually have to pay for it.

5. Um…I can’t think of a 5th one, so I’ll just list some movies coming out this year that I’m looking forward to.

Return

Stars Linda Cardellini (of Freaks and Geeks fame) so there’s a big plus right there.  And the trailer (click on above link to watch) is all tense, which is a double bonus.  It looks like limited release, so I’ll probably be ordering this off pay-per-view.

Red Dawn

Mostly I want to watch this so I can point out all the ways it’s not the original.  Yeah, I’m that person.

Men in Black III

I LOVE the first movie.  In such a way that every time I catch sight of it on TNT, I sit down and watch it.  I’ve seen it like two million times and it still cracks me up.  And there’s time travel in this one so it’s like Men in Black to the Future.  I’m down with that.

The Expendables II

The first one disappointed me.  It was muddled, there wasn’t enough Dolph Lundgren, and it was way sillier than I anticipated.  I guess when you have so much awesome in one place, you run the risk of getting burned.  But I’m not one to learn my lesson, so I’ll watch the sequel.  It’s sort-of like, how can I NOT watch it, you know?

What about you?  Any movies (based on books or not) that you’re looking forward to this year?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

7 thoughts on “Friday Fives – Five Novels (made into movies)

  1. I agree wholeheartedly on all. Jeremy Renner in a movie titled “Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters”? YES!
    I would watch Sandra Bullock fold her laundry.

  2. When I read THE HUNGER GAMES, I thought to myself, “I could see this being made into a movie.” Somehow I missed that this was, in fact, the plan. So I wasn’t at all surprised when I found out that Hollywood was working on it. I’m intrigued to see how they’ve adapted the book for the big screen. And it was filmed in the NC mountains (yay NC). 🙂

  3. Wow, that Hansel and Gretel movie looks amazing. How have I not heard of that??

    And I <3ed Freaks and Geeks! I still can't believe it only got one season. That and Firefly. Why can't TV networks keep more of the good ones running?

  4. Hunger Games, of course. I’m also looking forward to those two snow white retellings.

  5. I’m hoping Gatsby is good, but I’m worried. I love the book and the original. The rest I’ll probably skip and just watch Freaks and Geeks, because I own it and I’m pretty sure it’s still more entertaining than most of the movies coming out.

Leave a Reply

