Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

High School Reunions

3 Comments

Recently I was pulled into a group on Facebook for my 15-year high school reunion.  In fitting style, my graduating class can’t agree on anything.  I don’t have high hopes this reunion will even happen because:

  • We had a six and a half year reunion.  I’m not kidding.  It was seriously like that episode of Wonderfalls (if you know what I’m talking about, I adore you automatically), although I didn’t attend, so not sure how far the similarities go.
  • There may or may not have been a 10-year one.  No clue.  I ignored the whole affair.  I think the majority of people did.  Apathy.  That was most likely the problem.  Whatever.  *brushes thought aside*

The pressure is on for the 15th.  So far it sounds like everyone wants to hang out and drink.  It’ll be like high school all over again!

Because of Facebook, I’m already connected to dozens of my former classmates.  Assumedly they all know I’m living my post-graduation prediction that I’d spend my life attempting to sell my novels to strangers.

Assumedly some of them are also living their dreams.

Or I hope so.

I started thinking about this life dreams thing the other week when I went on my massive cleaning spree and found this “senior memories” book I’d half-assedly filled out when I was 18/19.

On one of the pages was the question:

My friends will become

The first is what I thought, while the second is what they actually do.

S – biochemist (sales)

M – photographer (works in some capacity for a non-profit)

S – photographer (vet tech or similar)

J – veterinarian (works in some capacity for law enforcement)

I was surprised that I didn’t remember my friends ever wanting to be these things.  I guess because when you’re a teen, “real life” and everything that comes with it, just doesn’t compute.  You’re so in-the-moment and life just stretches on and on endlessly.  Anything is possible.

Then one day, it’s all “hello, adulthood” and your dreams change (or evolve or whatever) due to reality.

Some of them anyway.

Others (like writing for me) continue to cling, even though I am firmly in the land of adult – a job, rent to pay, a husband…

Although, I must admit that I still don’t always fully feel like an adult.  I did when I worked 9-5, M-F, in an office.  But since I’ve been contracting the past few years (flexible hours), it’s like I have the best of both worlds: money to live on AND freedom.

And it’s a great feeling.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

3 thoughts on “High School Reunions

  1. I skipped the only HS reunion my class has had so far–in fact, I don’t know anyone who actually went.
    I’m definitely not doing what I thought I would do in HS (doctor), but I think I’ve stayed true to what I loved in HS (literature). I also feel like trying for publication is in some ways a quixotic thing, and that makes me feel in touch with my teenage self who really thought I could do anything. (Except model.)

  2. Yeah, my class was just contacting me about my ten year and I have no intention of attending. None. I feel like, with social media, we can check in on the people we were curious about and never need to bother with the whole awkward reunion thing, lol.

    When I was in high school, I thought I’d be a teacher or some kind of artsy wanderer–working in different countries and living on a shoestring. Instead, I work in an office. Though I did freelance for a while–and also felt that freedom you speak of, and that was sort of like being an artsy wanderer but without the art or the exotic locales 😉

  3. There was something so terribly sad about your list, to me. I don’t know why. Do dreams really change that drastically? I’m glad you’ve found the money to live and the freedom to pursue what you love 🙂

Leave a Reply

