Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Friday Fives – Viva La Resolutions!

6 Comments

A week ago, I did major cleaning.

The hubs grumbled, “It’s not even spring.”

To which I responded, “But it’s a new year, full of possibilities, I need to get rid of old junk!”

So five bags of trash and several Freecycle giveaway posts later, I am feeling much lighter and ready to take on 2012!

I’m fairly certain the Paper Hangover topic this week is:

What are your FIVE New Year’s resolutions (writing/reading/or otherwise)?

So here goes:

One:

Wake up with my alarm, not an hour later or whenever I feel like it.  Since I work from home, this is usually one of my resolutions; I always start off the year well, but by the last quarter, I’m all, “eh…”  But in order to get everything done, I need to spend more time in the land of awake.

Two:

Finish editing that WIP that I’ve been staring at for months.  I got beta notes back, jotted down more notes and then…blerg…the Holidays and the merrymaking and the eating began.  I went completely off-track.

Three:

THEN, once I whip that WIP into final draft shape, start querying.  And while I’m waiting for responses, I solemnly swear not to freak out and/or cry and/or eat entire pans of brownies.

Four:

Finish at least a first draft of a half-finished WIP that has been calling my name.  I literally dream about these characters.  I need to finish their story!

Five:

I signed up for the 50/50 challenge!  The first part – reading 50 books – is a snap.  Y’all know I love to make reading themes each month (even though my hubby teases me about my nerdiness) so this is an excuse to carry on with my geeky ways.

The other part – watching 50 movies – eek!  Will I finally have to watch all that stuff on my DVR???

Bonus Resolution:

Don’t stress if I fall off-track.  These goals are loosely made and I’ll adapt and rearrange as needed.

So I guess that’ll be my keyword for 2012:

ADAPT

Here’s to 2012!

P.S. I’m doing a little tidying up of the blog over the weekend, so don’t be alarmed by a new look.  It’ll be the same basic layout, just slightly rearranged.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

6 thoughts on “Friday Fives – Viva La Resolutions!

  1. Love that bonus resolution!
    I need to start not hitting the snooze button. It’s so hard in cold winter to get up when the alarm goes off, but I must.

  2. Good luck with your resolutions, Jennifer. I want to read more of your work so get writing! 😉 I swear not to cry or freak out during querying too. But I might eat an entire pan of brownies.

  3. Great resolutions. Good luck with accomplishing all of them in 2012. By the way, if you need help with that pan of brownies, just let me know 🙂

  4. I can see that I’m going to have to make more Brownies 😉

  5. Awesome goals. I don’t know if I can watch 50 movies. I’d like to, but I put reading and writing first.

    I’m hitting the snooze button less and I’ve been sleeping better later (also not napping as much), so I’m with you on that.

    Good luck on your writing this year.

Leave a Reply

