Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

January with a Twist Reading List

12 Comments

I love, LOVE (did I mention LOVE?) twists on classics.  Well, usually.  I saw part of the 2000 version of Hamlet the other week, where Ethan Hawke walks around looking pouty-cute (his signature look, he should trademark the term pouty-cute) and Steve Zahn (who is incapable of sucking IMHO) is a stoner Rosencrantz.  Bill Murray is in there somewhere, too.

In this movie, where people have “The Internets” and modern conveniences, but still speak lines directly from the play…

Eh

Stuff like that rarely gels for me.  It just seems awkward and stiff.  Bizarre.

I much prefer things like 10 Things I Hate About You where the lines are as modern as the backdrop.

Side note: Why is Julia Stiles in so many Shakespeare adaptations?

Anyway, rambling aside, here’s my list!

Pandora Gets Jealous by Carolyn Hennesy

Obviously a take on Pandora.  The first in a series.  Written by Carolyn Hennsey who is on my soap.  This makes me doubly happy.  Which perhaps makes me lame.  But I embrace that!

Ash by Malinda Lo

The tagline is: Cinderella retold

I have to say up front I’m wary of Cinderella stories b/c there are just so many of them.  But I’ve heard good things about this book and it sounds dark, which I’m excited about.  As much as I like Disney’s version with Gus Gus the Mouse, it’s just so sugary sweet.

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

Oz from the POV of the Wicked Witch of the West.  I’ve been warned there’s lots of S-E-X (just like that, too, all spelled out).  I’ll be the judge of that!

Entwined by Heather Dixon

Take on the Grimm Bros The Twelve Dancing Princesses.  I’ve read the entire (what felt like) 2 million page volume of their tales.  I remember like one story.  It wasn’t this one.  But I’m still psyched!

###

Gah, there are so many others I want to read (like Sweetly by Jackson Pearce – modern retelling of my fave, Hansel and Gretel) but time and the library collection dictate otherwise.

What’s everyone else reading?  Any favorite twists on old favorites?  Does anyone know a good retelling of Snow White?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

12 thoughts on “January with a Twist Reading List

  1. Wait. I haven’t seen this mythical version of HAMLET with Ethan Hawke, Steve Zahn (better than Ethan Hawke IMHO) and Bill Murray. What is wrong with me?!?! My REALITY BITES loving self is ashamed.

    I read this awesome retelling of Snow White in middle school but I cannot remember the title. I will try to figure it out!

  2. Oooh, I love re-tellings! There’s another Cinderella one coming out soon–Cinder–which looks like it will be awesome. Cinderella as a cyborg!

    And FYI, if you have an ereader, Entwined e-book is 99 cents right now for both Kindle and Nook.

  3. I just got Veronica Rossi’s Under the Never Sky. Just started it. Pretty good so far.

    Snow White remake? Hmmm…I’m only aware of the show Once Upon a Time…I think that’s the name. Supposed to be really good but I haven’t had a chance to check it out.

  4. I am trying to figure out if I’ve ever read a classic re-telling! I’m writing a Beauty and the Beast one right now which is really hard (random work kind of project, not a novel.) I really like Clueless which I believe is a retelling of Emma.

  5. I’m putting some of these on my list! I’ve read a few of Jackson Pearce’s books, but I haven’t gotten to Sweetly YET.

    I’m really excited about Diana Peterfreund’s book For Darkness Shows the Stars which is a re-telling of Persuasion.

  6. I have these, but haven’t read them yet.

    I enjoy retellings, but I don’t recall reading any recently.

  7. Can’t wait to hear your reviews.

Leave a Reply

