Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Best Book in November

6 Comments

It’s the last Wednesday of the month, which means Road Trip Wednesday time at YA Highway!

I read several enjoyable books this month:

Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols

If you ignore the improbability of the situation (17-year-old delinquent girl has to ride around with HAWT 19-year old cop as punishment.  On night shift.  While her parents are out of town), then it’s a sexy, breezy, fun read.  Meg was pretty obnoxious with her major ‘tude and after about the 400th time of reading about her blue hair making her badass and “outcast”, I was ready to punch her in the face.  But John After… where was this smokin’ cop when I was a teenage terror???

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor 

This was the October fall book club read, but I didn’t get the book until November 1st (er). Two words: Beautiful writing.  The descriptions made me feel like I was wandering through the most amazing, neverending oil painting.  That being said, it got a tad heavy-handed at times.  I’m all for gorgeous people, but perfect people just seem a bit blah.  I found the chimera way more interesting.  I sided with them over the arrogant others.

And now, for the best:

JELLICOE ROAD! (by Melina Marchetta)

How is it I waited so long to read this book?

Admittedly, I was a little confused at the beginning because there were so many names, but when I started to pick up on the clues and it all started to come together…WOW.  These people and their pain broke my heart, but the way they carried on…that everlasting connection…this is definitely one of those books that’ll stick with me for years.

So what about you?  What was the best book you read in November?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

6 thoughts on “RTW – Best Book in November

  1. Thanks for pointing out the perfection in DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE–that gave me pause. I have easier time with overly perfect people in fantasy books, though. In contemp? No way! I miss reading that beautiful writing.
    I need to read JELLICOE ROAD.

  2. Ditto to everything Rebecca said! And I just bought Jellicoe Road – hearing this is making me bump it up on the TBR.

  3. I love GOING TOO FAR and SMOKE AND BONE, and I’m clearly the ultimate Melina Marchetta fangirl. JELLICOE ROAD is my favorite of hers, so I’m completely on board with your book of the month choice. 🙂

  4. JELLICOE ROAD made me reconsider whether I actually know how to write, lol. It’s such an amazing story. I was a little confused at the beginning as well, but I think that’s why it was so great when all the pieces began to fit together. Oh, and I ❤ Griggs.

Leave a Reply

