Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Superpowers!

10 Comments

You know, it’s weird how often I actually think about superpowers.  Like, I’m convinced I have an uncanny ability to only go to the post office when there’s a gigantic line.

But I’ve never considered WRITING powers before seeing YA Highway’s RTW topic for this week:

What are your writing and publishing superpowers (drafting? beta-reading? writing queries? plotting? character creation? etc.) — and what’s your kryptonite?

My powers/kryptonite go hand in hand.

Dialogue, oh sweet, dialogue.  How I love to write thee.

But therein lies the problem.

I tend to forget that my characters aren’t just standing in a box, having these convos (although there’s a Samuel Beckett-ish idea I should attempt).  They might want me to write in some setting for them.

Another superpower?  Procrastination.  I guess I should get back to work…

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

10 thoughts on “RTW – Superpowers!

  1. Oh, writing superpowers!! Cool. Er, yes, I need some of those. Where do I get them? 🙂

    Kryptonite: falling in love with characters so that I dote lovingly on them in a scene. Plot? What plot? 🙂

  2. As soon as I saw the question I wanted to shout: Jennifer’s superpower is definitely dialogue! 🙂

  3. “I have an uncanny ability to only go to the post office when there’s a gigantic line.” Hahaha!

    I like this Beckett/dialogue box idea. Did you ever see the episode of Felicity in which they were all stuck in a white box? It’s totally doable!

  4. I’m pro procrastinator. If there were Olympics for such a thing, I’d win gold 🙂 As for the dialogue, I’m kind of envious. I tend to spend too much time i my MC’s head and not enough time having it actually come out of her mouth. I also tend to forget about setting (describing it in particular), which is not really a good thing.

    Great post 🙂

  5. Wait! Procrastination is a superpower? How did I miss that?

  6. I love writing dialogue. Oh, and I’m also a great procrastinator. I should wear a big P on my chest.

Leave a Reply

