Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Wrong Numbers

9 Comments

The other day, my cell phone rang.  The number flashed as “private,” so I ignored it, assuming a telemarketer.  Imagine my surprise to get a voicemail. An angry one.  It said:

Stop calling my man or I’m gonna tell Ryan

Since I:

  1. Didn’t know the caller
  2. Am certainly not calling her man

and

  1. Am not involved with Ryan

I laughed hysterically.  Then I made my husband, my neighbor, and pretty much everyone else I encountered over the next day listen to the message.*

It was an unexpected amusement in an otherwise monotonous workday.

Now if I had been calling “her man,” I might have laughed in a different way, like, “Haha, I will have your man AND Ryan AND any other man I want!!!”

Or maybe I would have freaked out at the idea of losing Ryan and changed my triflin’ ways.

Heck, it could have been a huge misunderstanding – the man and the home wrecker might have been planning angry girl’s surprise birthday party.  Then, like an episode of Three’s Company, a series of hilarious misunderstandings would ultimately lead to things working out.  In the span of half an hour.

Doubtful to the last one.  Angry girl probably has a dud for a man.  Her life episode would be more like an MTV reality series.

So am I the only one that’s been the recipient of a message not meant for them?  Anyone else ever had a Three’s Company moment? 

*I thought about pushing “call back” and telling angry girl she’d gotten the wrong number, but I didn’t want to add insult to injury.

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Currently in the query trenches. My faves include: cats, snacks & green tea.

9 thoughts on “Wrong Numbers

  1. Ahh, Jennifer! This seems familiar, I’ll bring you back to the good ol’ days of M.O.T.H. for a second… Right before recording some 4-track demos of ours, Roscoe starting getting these calls from a guy in Florida.. they were pretty strange, and we’re guessing influenced by some drinking. We think he was talking to his daughter (but who knows.) Let me see if I can find the track here… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_oVuymDs …it was kind of fitting in a way though, since we had just started the band, and were young and naive. It was almost like he cared… in a creepy, accidental sort of way!

  2. I got a voicemail once from (what sounded like) a mildly intoxicated elderly man, trying to get in touch with his estranged son. It was pretty much a huge downer. I like your Three’s Company call a lot better!

  3. Oh my gosh, I love this. And I also love any reference to Three’s Company.

  4. There was this kid named Dusty, who had a number ONE off from mine in high school. His pissed off girlfriend used to call in the middle of the night every other weekend or so.

    Pretty funny message 😀

  5. I used to think it only happened to me. We get wrong number calls all of the time, even on our cell phones. Hilarious you made so many people listen to it. Hope she doesn’t call again.

  6. I listened to a message from a blocked call a few weeks ago on speaker while I was driving my daughter somewhere. Big mistake. Some lady started cursing at me and said she was sleeping with my husband and then cursed some more. I panicked and quickly deleted it because my 10 year old could hear it. Then I laughed because my husband is just not that kind of guy.
    Then I sent him a text about it and ended by saying, “I want a divorce and you can keep the kids.” Ha Ha, right? Except he didn’t text me back or call all day. So six hours later I was a little panicky thinking maybe the impossible had happened. Long story, short. It didn’t. He had a busy day so when I finally did talk to him and he read the text we had a good long laugh. He was disappointed I had erased the message though

    • Haha, that reminds me of finding a love letter on the sidewalk years ago. My hubby worked days and I worked evenings, so I left it for him to have a laugh when he got home. Hours later, I get this frantic call at work, “This is not my letter, I don’t know the woman who wrote this!” By this time I’d forgotten about it and was all, “huh?”

Leave a Reply

