Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

RTW – Must Eat Brains!

13 Comments

YA Highway asks: What’s the best book you read in October?

I only read a few books this month since most of the time was spent plodding through a 500 page biography on Rasputin.  I am now disappointed that the legend isn’t as legend-y as I’d wanted.

Oh well…

To the other books!

Zombies vs. Unicorns, edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier

Before reading I was firmly TEAM ZOMBIE.  I’ve never been a big fan of the unicorn.  Probably because I was never one of those “I want a pony” kids.  I was more of an “I want a pet tiger, please.”  Note: My parents never got me a tiger, oddly enough.

My thoughts on some stories.  I put (Z) for Zombie, (U) for Unicorn

Bougainvillea by Carrie Ryan (Z) – loved the twist at the end.  I was expecting it, but that only made it sweeter.

A Thousand Flowers by Margo Lanagan (U) – It’s burned into my memory.  I am traumatized.

Princess Prettypants by Meg Cabot (U) – This story *almost* made me jump over to Team Unicorn.  Hilarious.

Prom Night by Libba Bray (Z) – My favorite story, hands down.  Haunting, heartbreaking, thought-provoking…it would make a great movie.

After reading, I’m still TEAM ZOMBIE, but maybe there’s a tiny sliver of room in my heart for certain unicorns.

Nothing by Jon Agee

I don’t normally read kids’ books since I don’t have kids, but I do sometimes volunteer as a “mystery reader” at the elementary school where my mom works.  I read this book to a group of kindergarteners.  The concept (it’s thinly veiled about materialism) went over their heads, but it  was a fun enough book that afterward they were all giggling and saying, “That’s silly.”  My four-year-old niece says “silly,” also.  It’s totally one of my favorite words.

What’s the best book you read in October??

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

13 thoughts on “RTW – Must Eat Brains!

  1. This reminds me, I just a news story about zombies boosting the economy (with movies, books, halloween costumes, etc) I’m in a bit of a reading funk so I’m having trouble with ‘the best read in October’ I’ll pass.

  2. Zombies Vs. Unicorns sounds like lots of fun! I will definitely be adding it to my list of books to check out. Thanks for the recommendation, Jennifer!

  3. TEAM ZOMBIE! I was not a pony girl, either.
    A 500 page bio of Rasputin? Wow! I want to hear more about that one.

  4. If it has Holly Black’s name on it, enough said. This one was already on my TBR list 🙂

  5. Like Laurie said, if Holly Black’s name on it, it must be read! I’ll definitely have to check that one out – thanks for the great reco!

  6. I’ve heard so much about ZOMBIES v UNICORNS. i should probably read, huh? so then, i can chime in on the debate 🙂

  7. Zombie v Unicorns is on my TBR case. I can’t wait to dive into it!

  8. I can’t say I’ve been enticed to read zombie stories… but this sounds interesting. I think there was another zombie book recommended last month that made me think I should at least look at how zombie books are being written. I’m like that–even if I wouldn’t write certain genres or topics, I’m intrigued to see how they are written.

  9. I’m ususally not a huge fan of anthologies, but Zombie vs Unicorn does sound interesting.

    I think I’ll pass on the Rasputan time suck.

  10. I never wanted to a pony. I actually wanted the unicorn because of the movie Legend with Tom Cruise. So I’m on Team Unicorn 🙂

    But I haven’t read that book. Looks like one for my TBR list. Thanks for sharing.

  11. I am totally picking up this book. I have fallen in love with Meg Cabot and the title alone made me smile. And Carrie Ryan and zombies – love.

    And I’m super jealous of your volunteering. Being a school teacher has quite a few perks, but time to volunteer is not one of them.

  12. Zombes vs. Unicorns looks interesting. I might pick it up.

    My favorite October read was The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer.

Leave a Reply

