Jennifer Pickrell

YA Writer

Teen movies – quintessential scenes – dances

14 Comments

Wow, it was hard to narrow down this topic, considering all the dancing movies like Footloose and Dirty Dancing.  The latter taught us all that nobody puts baby in a corner.  Plus there’s that sweet scene from She’s All That, when Laney Boggs feels like Pretty Woman without all the hookerish stuff.

But I finally settled on three:

Pretty in Pink

Andie is a girl from the wrong side of the tracks (do people still say this or am I showing my age?) who gets involved with rich boy, much to the disdain of his BFF, there’s a hideous pink dress, a Duckie, a Volvo and a kiss.

Side note: How creepy was James Spader in this movie??

Angus

Funny fat kid loves popular girl and his grandpa is like the most awesome grandpa ever.  The dance scene is one of those fist-pumping Rocky Balboa moments.  It involves James Van Der Beek’s character getting his comeuppance and Angus yelling all kinds of awesome.

“I’m still here, asshole! I’ll always be here!”

Carrie*

So you’re all dressed up for Prom, showing off your dirty pillows.  Then crazy Carrie White has to go and overreact to a little prank.  What a killjoy.

Side note: I was TERRIFIED of Sissy Spacek when I was a kid.  It took me awhile to put two and two together.  It’s still hard to think of her as Sissy and not Carrie.

*This is why I didn’t put a pic of the cover – it freaks me out.

Anyone else traumatized by Carrie?  Am I the only person in the world who has watched Angus?  Who else sings along to Time of My Life?

Author: Jennifer Pickrell

I write YA contemporary filled w/ romance, angst & family drama. Things I like: cats, snacks, baseball, green tea, taking pictures of trees & movies so bad, they’re good.

14 thoughts on “Teen movies – quintessential scenes – dances

  1. I still can’t look at Sissy Spacek without thinking of all that blood. [Shudders]
    I have never seen Angus! I guess I should?
    And whenever I hear “I Had the Time of my Life,” even if I’m in a grocery store or something, I have an uncontrollable urge to dance.

    This is inspiring me to have a dance scene in one of my WIPs.

  2. I still love Pretty in Pink. James Spader is always creepy to me–even in The Office. I’ve never seen Angus or Carrie. Not a big horror fan.

  3. I was always a bit of a scaredy cat so I never watched Carrie. Hadn’t heard of Angus but it sounds like something I should check into for an oldie-but-goodie moment. Pretty in Pink – now that was my movie for a little while. Loved it!

  4. I loved Carrie but I can not look at Sissy Spacek without wanting to cry either. I have a brief, fleeting memory of Angus. Having trouble placing it.

  5. I not only sing along to Time of My Life, but I can and will do the choreography along with it. I will not confirm or deny that I worked very hard to learn it.

  6. Yes, I was traumatized by Carrie. Not so much as an adult, since I watched it not too long ago, but as a child I was terrified.

    I’m not familiar with Angus.

    I loved Pretty in Pink. 🙂

  7. You know I love this post already. And I haven’t seen even one of these scenes. I’m gonna start with James Van Der Beek as the antagonist. Clearly this was the role that landed him the plum role of Dawson?

  8. I know I’m a little late coming in here, but I LOVED Angus!!! I am shocked that the other commenters all missed out on it. That movie rocked my world, and the soundtrack was amazing. <3.

    That Mazzy Star song has now been inextricably entwined with awkward dances for forever. I wish my school dances played that stuff, instead of weird 90's R&B.

Leave a Reply

